Slight framedrops using the New 3D engine

Having technical difficulties with Supermodel? Last-minute wardrobe malfunction? Get help here.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Re: Slight framedrops using the New 3D engine

Postby outrun1986 » Thu Dec 29, 2016 11:40 am

hi bart tested again it all ways drops on the the start of scud race second track at the start when you take the bend to start line then picks up drops a little in the middle not as bad as the start
and every time you take the corner it drops to 41 then past start line back to 59 fps
i have overclocked the card but made no change i am running quad core 6700 with radeon hd4670
all other games have no slowdown at all with new engine does it run ok on that track on your setup
Last edited by outrun1986 on Fri Dec 30, 2016 11:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
outrun1986
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 11:56 am

Re: Slight framedrops using the New 3D engine

Postby Ian » Thu Dec 29, 2016 1:23 pm

It's probably your CPU. You are basically running a 10yo system.
Ian
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:23 am

Re: Slight framedrops using the New 3D engine

Postby outrun1986 » Thu Dec 29, 2016 1:38 pm

thanks ian would a better graphics card make any change as all other supermodel games are spot on just scud race 2nd track using new engine
User avatar
outrun1986
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 11:56 am

Re: Slight framedrops using the New 3D engine

Postby Ian » Thu Dec 29, 2016 4:23 pm

I don't think a faster gfx card would really help. The issue is the CPU is not fast enough to feed the GPU.
If you need the speed use Bart's graphics engine. Even though it renders more geometry, it's lighter on the CPU as it does less mesh processing, and it also most of the time (depending on culling) uses less draw calls.
Ian
 
Posts: 844
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:23 am

Re: Slight framedrops using the New 3D engine

Postby Shekel » Thu Dec 29, 2016 4:32 pm

What resolution are you running it at?
User avatar
Shekel
 
Posts: 341
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 12:45 pm

Re: Slight framedrops using the New 3D engine

Postby outrun1986 » Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:48 am

hi running 640 480 on arcade monitor in cab runs fine on old engine just the new one scud race all other games on new engine run rear 60fps most time could some one check there scud with new engine to see if it slows down on second track
User avatar
outrun1986
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 11:56 am

Re: Slight framedrops using the New 3D engine

Postby LsrgcBath » Fri Dec 30, 2016 11:38 am

outrun1986 wrote:hi bart tested again it all ways drops on the the start of scud race second track at the start when you take the bend to start line then picks up drops a little in the middle not as bad as the start
and every time you take the corner it drops to 41 then past start line back to 59 fps
i have overclocked the card but made no change i am running quad core 6700 with radeon hd4670
all other games have no slowdown at all with new engine does it run ok on that track on your setup


Did I get it wrong or do you have an i7 6700?
User avatar
LsrgcBath
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Brazil - Sao Paulo

Re: Slight framedrops using the New 3D engine

Postby outrun1986 » Fri Dec 30, 2016 12:58 pm

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz Quad-Core
User avatar
outrun1986
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 11:56 am

Re: Slight framedrops using the New 3D engine

Postby LsrgcBath » Fri Dec 30, 2016 3:53 pm

outrun1986 wrote:Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 2.66GHz Quad-Core


Ahh, OK!!

Had forgotten about Core 2, even though I had a Q8300 here.

Next year one of my priorities is to buy a new CPU and better memorys, I think these CPU's already fulfilled their role.
User avatar
LsrgcBath
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Brazil - Sao Paulo

Re: Slight framedrops using the New 3D engine

Postby outrun1986 » Sun Jan 01, 2017 6:55 am

hi all had my m8 test this on his i7 2600k + gtx 780ti and it still drops frames on that bend. so i dont know all other tracks run 59 to 60 fps constant can anyone else check to see if they get the same it is just on airport track when you take the bend to the start line and past start line goes back to 59 60 fps. a couple of frames you would not see it.just wondered why it is only on scud race at that point on that track
User avatar
outrun1986
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 11:56 am

PreviousNext

Return to The Fitting Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests