Page 3 of 3

Re: running slower in newer revisions

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2018 2:54 pm
by Bart
Step 1.0 was 66 MHz, Step 2.x (which ECA runs on) was 166 MHz. You’re running it at a mere 57. Try 66 or 100.

Re: running slower in newer revisions

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2018 5:22 pm
by Ian
doteater,
did the newer build fix that issue where you saw the geforce experience stuff in the background?

Re: running slower in newer revisions

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:18 am
by doteater
Bart wrote:Step 1.0 was 66 MHz, Step 2.x (which ECA runs on) was 166 MHz. You’re running it at a mere 57. Try 66 or 100.


i found a bunch of old threads / posts on the forum regarding the different frequencies
for example,some people were suggesting ultra low frequency for scud race (25) while others were all for higher ones regardless of what the original "step" was
in my case,yes,66 seems to be the perfect frequency for ECA and fixed all the slowdowns . good stuff !
tomorrow or so,i plan to test sega rally 2 and virtua with the same frequency
those are the only two other games where i encountered that same issue when using the "default" frequency

doteater,
did the newer build fix that issue where you saw the geforce experience stuff in the background?


evening ian
i was waiting for either emu france or emu cr to upload r758 or 9
i just tested 759 and,yes,that particular issue with the geforce background window is fixed so thank you
while at it,i decided to test 759 with fraps and afterburner too
msi afterburner doesn't seem to particularly like supermodel and i noticed that,compared to fraps,you get a slightly different result when you screengrab or record

fraps
https://ibb.co/w64Ycg0

afterburner
https://ibb.co/yNMH3N0

neo geo games have a very similar problem
some games use the entire visible area while others are cropped or the unused space gets filled with garbage etc but,like you said,that can be easily circumnavigated on "real hardware"
they fixed that problem in mame with an option but i don't know how difficult it would be to implement something like that in supermodel
not making demands,of course - just a (probably obvious) suggestion

https://ibb.co/BBSf8b4