Sega Rally 2 FFB is bad!!

Having technical difficulties with Supermodel? Last-minute wardrobe malfunction? Get help here.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Sega Rally 2 FFB is bad!!

Postby TheSupermodel3 » Tue Sep 27, 2011 7:33 am

Hi everyone,i tried all setting as possible in .ini file and g27 profiler and all racing game works very well(may be better the arcade!really!!)...except Sega rally 2 !

When i go to menu test board,the wheel works good(right/left/center) but in game,i have an horrible vibration in the center of the wheel and NO REAL FFB like Scudrace and daytona(The steering wheel moves constantly!

I have a logitech G27!
Thanks! :D
- os: 7 /64 bits
- I5 2500k @ 4.5 ghz
- Sapphire HD 7970 @ 1150/1800 mhz
- 8go kingston DDR3 1600 mhz
- ssd crucial m4 128go
- AKASA venom 750 W
- xbox360 wireless pad + Fanatec csr wheel+ G27+ems top gun...
- LED 1080p Samsung 46"
User avatar
TheSupermodel3
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 5:12 pm
Location: France

Re: Sega Rally 2 FFB is bad!!

Postby nikdd » Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:01 am

TheSupermodel3 wrote:Hi everyone,i tried all setting as possible in .ini file and g27 profiler and all racing game works very well(may be better the arcade!really!!)...except Sega rally 2 !

When i go to menu test board,the wheel works good(right/left/center) but in game,i have an horrible vibration in the center of the wheel and NO REAL FFB like Scudrace and daytona(The steering wheel moves constantly!

I have a logitech G27!


Hi TheSupermodel3,

Glad force feedback is working well for you in Scud Race and Daytona :-) !

Sega Rally 2 uses a different way of controlling the drive board than the other two so you may need to play around with your feedback settings a bit. I think the vibration of the wheel is supposed to be there (to make it feel like you're driving off-road) but if it's annoying you then it sounds like you need to turn down the strength of your effects a bit. The only setting that affects Sega Rally 2 is DirectInputConstForceMax, so try reducing this. If you put this option in its own section in Supermodel.ini called [srally2] then it will only apply to Sega Rally 2 and it won't affect the other games (see the README.txt for more details about the structure of the config file).

Also, please bear in mind that force feedback is still experimental so there may be things we can still improve!

Cheers, Nik.
nikdd
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:39 am
Location: London

Re: Sega Rally 2 FFB is bad!!

Postby bandicoot » Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:30 am

The first stage of sega rally 2 rumble a lot it normal due to the ground type ( no sure for the translation )
bandicoot
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:14 am

Re: Sega Rally 2 FFB is bad!!

Postby TheSupermodel3 » Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:50 am

nikdd wrote:
TheSupermodel3 wrote:Hi everyone,i tried all setting as possible in .ini file and g27 profiler and all racing game works very well(may be better the arcade!really!!)...except Sega rally 2 !

When i go to menu test board,the wheel works good(right/left/center) but in game,i have an horrible vibration in the center of the wheel and NO REAL FFB like Scudrace and daytona(The steering wheel moves constantly!

I have a logitech G27!


Hi TheSupermodel3,

Glad force feedback is working well for you in Scud Race and Daytona :-) !

Sega Rally 2 uses a different way of controlling the drive board than the other two so you may need to play around with your feedback settings a bit. I think the vibration of the wheel is supposed to be there (to make it feel like you're driving off-road) but if it's annoying you then it sounds like you need to turn down the strength of your effects a bit. The only setting that affects Sega Rally 2 is DirectInputConstForceMax, so try reducing this. If you put this option in its own section in Supermodel.ini called [srally2] then it will only apply to Sega Rally 2 and it won't affect the other games (see the README.txt for more details about the structure of the config file).

Also, please bear in mind that force feedback is still experimental so there may be things we can still improve!

Cheers, Nik.




Thanks a lot NIk,you make a great job in few time!
RESPECT man!!

Thank you very much ,i will try it later!
See you. :)
- os: 7 /64 bits
- I5 2500k @ 4.5 ghz
- Sapphire HD 7970 @ 1150/1800 mhz
- 8go kingston DDR3 1600 mhz
- ssd crucial m4 128go
- AKASA venom 750 W
- xbox360 wireless pad + Fanatec csr wheel+ G27+ems top gun...
- LED 1080p Samsung 46"
User avatar
TheSupermodel3
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 5:12 pm
Location: France

Re: Sega Rally 2 FFB is bad!!

Postby AndyGeezer » Thu Sep 29, 2011 3:45 am

Pretty sure Rally 2 used a lot different program than Daytona2/Scud, Daytona 2/Scud drive board rom is quite similar, the Rally 2 one is quite different IIRC. So the chances are Nik hasn't go around to understanding that one so much.

Believe Dirt and ECA use Daytona 2 drive board prog rom as well.
AndyGeezer
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 3:33 am

Re: Sega Rally 2 FFB is bad!!

Postby nikdd » Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:59 am

AndyGeezer wrote:Pretty sure Rally 2 used a lot different program than Daytona2/Scud, Daytona 2/Scud drive board rom is quite similar, the Rally 2 one is quite different IIRC. So the chances are Nik hasn't go around to understanding that one so much.


Hey Andy,

Yes, you're right that the Rally drive board ROM is quite different to the other two. Interestingly enough, it actually looks like a simpler communication protocol between the main board and the drive board, with the game itself doing more of the work and the drive board doing less. Hence it should easier to get it working right although, to be honest, I haven't spent as much time looking at Rally as the other two.

One thing I think people need to do in Supermodel though is adjust their feedback settings for Rally as settings that work well for Daytona and Scud Race won't necessarily be suitable for Rally. Having said that I'll still try and take a closer look at the weekend to check there's not something else going wrong.

Believe Dirt and ECA use Daytona 2 drive board prog rom as well.


Ah fantastic, very useful to know - thanks for the information! At some point we'll try hooking up the Daytona 2 drive board ROM to these two and see if they work (unfortunately neither of them is really playable in Supermodel yet).

Cheers, Nik.
nikdd
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:39 am
Location: London


Return to The Fitting Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests