Help with Sega Rally 2 PC Version

Having technical difficulties with Supermodel? Last-minute wardrobe malfunction? Get help here.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Help with Sega Rally 2 PC Version

Postby Boomslangnz » Wed Jan 16, 2013 2:38 am

Hi

I brought sega rally 2 on pc but cant seem to run it. It doesnt let me choose display device in setup and when i choose sega rally 2.exe it gives me and error code (which ive found out means it isnt detecting any video card etc)

im on windows 7 64 bit, ive looked around and plenty others seem to be playing it on windows 7 64 bit too.

Can i perhaps get an upload of your sr2.cfg file or something....try my luck

thanks
Boomslangnz
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:35 pm

Re: Help with Sega Rally 2 PC Version

Postby IceMan » Wed Jan 16, 2013 5:55 am

Try setting resolution to 800x600 in the config program, it helped me I think. Although I'm on XP. It might be a graphics driver issue though, as lots of older games don't work (well or at all) with newest Nvidia drivers on my older 7800GS+ Nvidia card.
IceMan
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 9:08 am

Re: Help with Sega Rally 2 PC Version

Postby johnriper » Wed Jan 16, 2013 9:18 am

Try to download sega rally 2 pc demo and after install overwrite the config from the demo to original install and it will work 800*600 in win 7.
If you want better resolutions try this http://www.wsgf.org/forums/viewtopic.ph ... d&start=10
johnriper
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:37 pm

Re: Help with Sega Rally 2 PC Version

Postby AnimalBear » Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:22 am

Send me a print from the settings of the game, there is one option you need to change to make it work, is not problem of the resolution. ;)
It happens to me as well.
AnimalBear
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 5:28 am

Re: Help with Sega Rally 2 PC Version

Postby LsrgcBath » Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:52 am

Never tried, but I'll kick a hint ...

Did you tried run the game in compatibility mode?
User avatar
LsrgcBath
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Brazil - Sao Paulo

Re: Help with Sega Rally 2 PC Version

Postby Boomslangnz » Wed Jan 16, 2013 3:51 pm

Yeah I tried in compatibility mode etc, when I load setup and click display device it only has blank choices, I've clicked 800x600 resolution etc but as soon as I click exe file it immediately says failed to initialize and gives error code
Boomslangnz
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:35 pm

Re: Help with Sega Rally 2 PC Version

Postby Boomslangnz » Wed Jan 16, 2013 9:14 pm

awesome got it running thanks guys!!

downloaded sega rally 2 demo, copied over exe and cfg and it works now
Boomslangnz
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:35 pm

Re: Help with Sega Rally 2 PC Version

Postby IceMan » Thu Jan 17, 2013 7:37 am

Interesting, not heard about this method before. I wonder how many other changes there are, as I found the demo felt better than the final game in some ways. There were various patches for the full game in Japan before Empire released it in the West, the demo might be a bit older than that.

I bet the music still doesn't work though; the XP workaround (_inmm.dll) apparently doesn't work on Win7 or above. Although there's this fix in this forum which might work! viewtopic.php?f=3&t=396&start=10

One game I wish was fixed is Sega Marine Fishing though, it has fog you can't see through on Empire's western version, but the Japanese PC demo works fine (and has a multiplayer option missing in the European release) :-/
IceMan
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 9:08 am

Re: Help with Sega Rally 2 PC Version

Postby AnimalBear » Fri Jan 18, 2013 8:47 am

Thanks to _inmm.dll, i got all the MK games work 100% ;)
AnimalBear
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 5:28 am

Re: Help with Sega Rally 2 PC Version

Postby Toshiko » Thu Jan 31, 2013 9:13 pm

Oh, huh. Wish I'd known this sooner.

I spent an awful lot of time trying to get Sega Rally 2 to work before finally discovering that it refuses to run at 800x600 on Windows 7. Change to 640x480 and it works fine.

Still can't get analog controls working properly, but it's better than nothing.
Toshiko
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 10:30 am

Next

Return to The Fitting Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests