Lastest Build WIP r756 Discuss (do not post builds) New Bat*

Discuss Supermodel and your favorite Model 3 games. Show off your latest threads, this is the place to see and be seen.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Re: Lastest Build WIP r734 Discuss (do not post builds)

Postby VirtuaHunter » Fri Jun 22, 2018 2:29 pm

Bart wrote:Ian and I haven’t touched the sound emulation in years. The problems there are numerous and largely known. Fixing will not be trivial. It’ll probably require porting over MAME’s SCSP code. Until then, probably not worth discussing sound.

It’s hard to say what the cause of slowdown is but if the frame rate doesn’t dip then it isn’t the renderer. My guess is that it’s a combination of CPU emulation frequency and frame timing inaccuracy.


I see, so you haven't touched the sound emulation? It's strange because I tried again to confirm and the music plays slower on svn 735, while In the older version (don't remember which, probably 680-690) the scud race attract music plays like this: normal-slow-normal-slow.
User avatar
VirtuaHunter
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:47 am

Re: Lastest Build WIP r734 Discuss (do not post builds)

Postby VirtuaHunter » Fri Jun 22, 2018 2:41 pm

Ian wrote:Virtualhunter, for spike out you really need to run the emulated cpu at like 100mhz, 50 is not really enough for that game, especially in the heavy scenes.



I tried Spikeout at 100 Mhz and it seems to solve both the slowdown problems and the graphical glitches (the scene flickering during the demo).

Since we are on topic, I have a question (probably a silly question): I checked the Model 3 specs, and I see that the step 1 had a 66Mhz Power PC, while the Step 2.1 had a 166Mhz.
Why supermodel has a default setting of 50Mhz if the step 1 has a 66Mhz? (assuming it's the same thing, correct me if I'm wrong)
in case, is it best to use the same frequency, example -ppc-frequency=166 for all Step 2.1 games?
User avatar
VirtuaHunter
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:47 am

Re: Lastest Build WIP r735 Discuss (do not post builds)

Postby Ian » Sat Jun 23, 2018 1:43 am

Because cpu emulation is very expensive :p
You'll probably need some monster overclocked cpu to run emulation at 166mhz. I think my pc can handle around 150 but then it starts to slow down.
Ian
 
Posts: 1536
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:23 am

Re: Lastest Build WIP r734 Discuss (do not post builds)

Postby Joaquim Gonçalves » Sat Jun 23, 2018 6:41 am

VirtuaHunter wrote:
Bart wrote:Ian and I haven’t touched the sound emulation in years. The problems there are numerous and largely known. Fixing will not be trivial. It’ll probably require porting over MAME’s SCSP code. Until then, probably not worth discussing sound.

It’s hard to say what the cause of slowdown is but if the frame rate doesn’t dip then it isn’t the renderer. My guess is that it’s a combination of CPU emulation frequency and frame timing inaccuracy.


I see, so you haven't touched the sound emulation? It's strange because I tried again to confirm and the music plays slower on svn 735, while In the older version (don't remember which, probably 680-690) the scud race attract music plays like this: normal-slow-normal-slow.


r727 version.
cxbx emulator have as well this problem, is more accurate.
Waiting...
User avatar
Joaquim Gonçalves
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 5:12 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Lastest Build WIP r735 Discuss (do not post builds)

Postby CCCP1982 » Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:07 pm

SEGA MODEL 3
User avatar
CCCP1982
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 12:27 pm
Location: Россия г. Мурманск.

Re: Lastest Build WIP r735 Discuss (do not post builds)

Postby Joaquim Gonçalves » Mon Jun 25, 2018 6:13 am

CCCP1982 wrote:SR plus step 1.5 :geek: :D
https://youtu.be/VlpGCwf9qmA


Are you using my .cmd? -ppc-frequency=57

Works fine here 60fps, latest r735 lol. :)
Jit version works amazing.
Waiting...
User avatar
Joaquim Gonçalves
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 5:12 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Lastest Build WIP r735 Discuss (do not post builds)

Postby CCCP1982 » Mon Jun 25, 2018 8:28 pm

Joaquim Gonçalves
The problem is not in AMD cards, the card is powerful, the problem is in the emulator r735 !!!
AMD is an excellent player for all r729 games 60FPS !!!.
I installed a clean Windows 10 x64 2018, r735 low FPS !!!
SEGA MODEL 3
User avatar
CCCP1982
 
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 12:27 pm
Location: Россия г. Мурманск.

Re: Lastest Build WIP r735 Discuss (do not post builds)

Postby VirtuaHunter » Tue Jun 26, 2018 4:20 am

Ian wrote:Because cpu emulation is very expensive :p
You'll probably need some monster overclocked cpu to run emulation at 166mhz. I think my pc can handle around 150 but then it starts to slow down.


For curiosity I tried -ppc-frequency=166 with 735 and I can reach 60,7 fps in scud race both normal and no-throttle (while in default ppc at 50 with no-throttle I reach 170fps in scud).
Luckly this cpu (7th gen i5) seems good for arcade emulation, and that is one on the main purpose of my pc :D
User avatar
VirtuaHunter
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:47 am

Re: Lastest Build WIP r735 Discuss (do not post builds)

Postby Joaquim Gonçalves » Tue Jun 26, 2018 7:15 am

CCCP1982 wrote:Joaquim Gonçalves
The problem is not in AMD cards, the card is powerful, the problem is in the emulator r735 !!!
AMD is an excellent player for all r729 games 60FPS !!!.
I installed a clean Windows 10 x64 2018, r735 low FPS !!!


Try VirtuaHunter's Idea. -ppc-frequency=166 or a nother number. You will find the issue problem soon or later. ;)
Run manytimes the emulator in window screen and check your fps untill you get the perfect running.
I'm using the original 57fps = 57.99 and it works ok here.
If you are unable to fix it, move forward to Windows 10.
Waiting...
User avatar
Joaquim Gonçalves
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 5:12 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Lastest Build WIP r735 Discuss (do not post builds)

Postby Ian » Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:32 am

I did a blit of the depth/stencil between render targets. Should be cheap (seems cheap on nvidia). But it's possible this is causing a hit on AMD cards. I can optimise it out when it's not needed. Some games it's not needed at all, but games like sega rally will use it almost every frame.
Ian
 
Posts: 1536
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:23 am

PreviousNext

Return to The Catwalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron