Supermodel and imac el capitan

Discuss Supermodel and your favorite Model 3 games. Show off your latest threads, this is the place to see and be seen.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Supermodel and imac el capitan

Postby Phil6848 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 9:42 am

hello,

I am new here i would like help please
I want to play sega rally 2 with supermodel on imac el capitan.
I have a hard time installing supermodel
Is this compatible with el capitan?
After downloading the supermodel file, I run the exe file and tells me to put it in the recycle bin ...
Can anyone help me to tell me every step to install supermodel su el capitan?
thank you

Phil
Phil6848
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 1:51 am

Re: Supermodel and imac el capitan

Postby Bart » Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:29 am

You cannot run a Windows exes on Mac. You need to download a Mac build of Supermodel or build it yourself. There is a version on the main web site but it is old. To my knowledge, nobody is maintaining a Mac build but it should still be possible to do so.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1833
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Supermodel and imac el capitan

Postby 2DForever » Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:30 pm

Hi, there's a recent-ish version of the OSX version which you can download from this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1198

I should point out that Supermodel isn't like your standard Mac app, you'll need to use terminal to start it up. It's easy when you know what you're doing, but can be daunting if you're unfamiliar with terminal.

A super quick primer though if you're new to it:
- Unzip the Supermodel version you downloaded from the thread above, and place it somewhere (such as in the Applications folder)
- Open terminal (It's in Applications > Utilities > Terminal)
- You'll need to change the directory in terminal to where Supermodel is located. Type "cd" (without quotes) to change directory and then drag in the location of supermodel into the terminal window. It will automatically put in the location where Supermodel is located. For example, if it's in the Applications folder, drag the applications folder into terminal and you'll see something like "cd /Applications". Press enter to change directory to applications.
- If Supermodel is in that folder you can run it by typing in "./Supermodel game.zip". the './Supermodel' part loads supermodel, and the 'game.zip' part loads whatever game you have. For example "./Supermodel srally2.zip" will load Sega Rally 2, assuming it's in the same folder as Supermodel.

Hope that helps!
2DForever
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 4:46 am

Re: Supermodel and imac el capitan

Postby Phil6848 » Thu Jan 19, 2017 1:19 pm

Thank you for your answer
I have an osx version 10.11.06
I still can not operate the Model 2
A video will be easier but there are not many on Osx
I would love to see Sega Rally 2 again
I download the last verification that you said to me, then I launch the program and there are writings.
There are no files to decompress
I do not understand what you say about how to launch ...
Can someone help me or show me a video on 10.11.06?

thank you

Phil
Phil6848
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 1:51 am

Re: Supermodel and imac el capitan

Postby Phil6848 » Thu Jan 19, 2017 1:20 pm

Thank you for your answer
I have an osx version 10.11.06
I still can not operate the Model 2
A video will be easier but there are not many on Osx
I would love to see Sega Rally 2 again
I download the last verification that you said to me, then I launch the program and there are writings.
There are no files to decompress
I do not understand what you say about how to launch ...
Can someone help me or show me a video on 10.11.06?

thank you

Phil
Phil6848
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 1:51 am

Re: Supermodel and imac el capitan

Postby Bart » Fri Jan 20, 2017 8:42 am

Phil6848 wrote:I download the last verification that you said to me, then I launch the program and there are writings.


Can you show a screenshot of what happens?

To run the emulator on Mac OS, you need to use the Terminal. Follow 2DForever's instructions step by step.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1833
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Supermodel and imac el capitan

Postby Phil6848 » Sun Jan 29, 2017 2:28 pm

thank you for helping me
here are some pictures
Please tell me if there is no shortage of files
It's complicated for me ...
Now he asks me to place the executor in the trash when I launch the program.
It's hard on osx ....
I despair
Help me please
Phil6848
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2017 1:51 am

Re: Supermodel and imac el capitan

Postby Bart » Sun Jan 29, 2017 6:28 pm

There are no screenshots attached in your post. You should not have a ".exe" file -- that is only for the Windows version.

2DForever explained the steps needed. Here are the first two:

1. Unzip the Supermodel version you downloaded from the thread above, and place it somewhere (such as in the Applications folder)
2. Open terminal (It's in Applications > Utilities > Terminal)

Which step is unclear?
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1833
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City


Return to The Catwalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests