Original Model 3 hardware running at 57 fps?

Discuss Supermodel and your favorite Model 3 games. Show off your latest threads, this is the place to see and be seen.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Original Model 3 hardware running at 57 fps?

Postby ferrarifan » Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:37 pm

I finally played Daytona USA 2 PE at the arcade again so when I started playing,the frame rate seems to be a tad slow than on Supermodel. I can tell because on original hardware is a bit smooth but the frames are jittery but not all the way. I think Supermodel runs a bit faster probably because of faster PC hardware which kinda makes sense to me. If this topic has mistakes, correct me if I'm wrong.
User avatar
ferrarifan
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 7:38 pm

Re: Original Model 3 hardware running at 57 fps?

Postby Ian » Sun Aug 20, 2017 1:45 pm

supermodel works at 60, you'll have an insane jerk fest if you run at 57 on a 60hz screen >_<
Ian
 
Posts: 1120
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:23 am

Re: Original Model 3 hardware running at 57 fps?

Postby ferrarifan » Sun Aug 20, 2017 2:32 pm

Ian wrote:supermodel works at 60, you'll have an insane jerk fest if you run at 57 on a 60hz screen >_<
Oh I almost forgot about that. Probably a monitor running at 57 refresh rate.
User avatar
ferrarifan
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 7:38 pm

Re: Original Model 3 hardware running at 57 fps?

Postby Bart » Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:28 pm

According to Charles MacDonald's excellent System 24 hardware notes, the frame rate is precisely 57.52 Hz, which is what my test program measured too :)

Image
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1995
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Original Model 3 hardware running at 57 fps?

Postby Jiterdomer » Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:27 pm

MAME games ran at 60 fps but is there a way to enable 57 fps like the arcade? In Mortal Kombat games, I cannot perform any fatalities at a medium pace. Sorry for off-topic. Hopefully Supermodel has this option for this.
Feel the heartbeat of my machine through this tight seat. I feel every motion of my machine
Image
User avatar
Jiterdomer
 
Posts: 471
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Original Model 3 hardware running at 57 fps?

Postby Abelardator2 » Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:49 am

Nvidia G-Sync on monitor is the solution for MAME.
User avatar
Abelardator2
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 1:43 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Original Model 3 hardware running at 57 fps?

Postby Ian » Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:51 am

g-sync is certainly interesting, but nvidia only technology. Maybe free-sync by AMD will catch on?
Ian
 
Posts: 1120
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:23 am

Re: Original Model 3 hardware running at 57 fps?

Postby Abelardator2 » Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:06 pm

Ian wrote:g-sync is certainly interesting, but nvidia only technology. Maybe free-sync by AMD will catch on?


Maybe yes.... ;)

I use Nvidia graphic card (GTX 970), and Asus PG278Q monitor with G-Sync, synchronization is perfect in Mame, I am very happy... :D
User avatar
Abelardator2
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 1:43 pm
Location: Spain


Return to The Catwalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron