Page 1 of 1

Custom build of Supermodel with Frameskip?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 3:17 pm
by DaytonaFan
Hello everyone! I know that it may be ridiculous that a feature like this was forced into Supermodel, but I wondered how exactly would be possible at least a single specific build of Supermodel with some kind of frameskipping or optimization for low-end GPUs (like my Intel HD Graphics)? Some games like SEGA Rally 2 actually run well (that is, if I disable sound), and I wondered how I could get the last FPS needed to have the games at fullspeed and keeping sound.

Also, unrelated to this question, but I remember someone posting a video about Dirt Devils being linked in Supermodel. Is there anything about that out?

Re: Custom build of Supermodel with Frameskip?

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 9:50 pm
by Toshiko
In regards to Sega Rally 2, the official PC release is very lightweight, has more courses and features than the arcade, and only misses out on some lighting effects (which I personally find garish on the Model 3 side, and thus prefer PC). The only caveat is that the more modern your OS is, the more of a pain it is to get running (I even had to abandon analog controls along the way). But for an 18 year old PC game, it's pretty great!

Also, frameskip isn't always a feasible or effective option for running on less than ideal hardware. I've not looked at the Supermodel source, or even tested on a system that doesn't meet requirements (even my laptop is overkill for Supermodel), but it might not be a viable option.

Re: Custom build of Supermodel with Frameskip?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 3:16 am
by Nickie
i can hardly think of a GPU today that can't render model3 graphics, your CPU may be the issue there, which explains why disabling sound helps ;)

so frameskipping on the actual game engine and system emulation is quite another thing than dropping video frames ....



model3 isn't very heavy on the hardware, have you considered an ugrade?

Re: Custom build of Supermodel with Frameskip?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 6:40 am
by DaytonaFan
Toshiko wrote:In regards to Sega Rally 2, the official PC release is very lightweight, has more courses and features than the arcade, and only misses out on some lighting effects (which I personally find garish on the Model 3 side, and thus prefer PC). The only caveat is that the more modern your OS is, the more of a pain it is to get running (I even had to abandon analog controls along the way). But for an 18 year old PC game, it's pretty great!

Also, frameskip isn't always a feasible or effective option for running on less than ideal hardware. I've not looked at the Supermodel source, or even tested on a system that doesn't meet requirements (even my laptop is overkill for Supermodel), but it might not be a viable option.

I already have the PC version of Sega Rally 2, and it's the one I play the most (one of my favorite games). I would like to be able to play Daytona 2 at constant fullspeed though.

Nickie wrote:i can hardly think of a GPU today that can't render model3 graphics, your CPU may be the issue there, which explains why disabling sound helps ;)

so frameskipping on the actual game engine and system emulation is quite another thing than dropping video frames ....

model3 isn't very heavy on the hardware, have you considered an ugrade?

I would upgrade if I wasn't in Venezuela :P

Re: Custom build of Supermodel with Frameskip?

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:47 pm
by Nickie
DaytonaFan wrote:I would upgrade if I wasn't in Venezuela :P


oww shucks :p

if i sent you some CPU do you think you'd receive it? :p what's your hardware? (i mean unless it's a laptop :p )