Yamaha MS1 PS2 Controller with Harley Davidson & L.A. Riders

Discuss Supermodel and your favorite Model 3 games. Show off your latest threads, this is the place to see and be seen.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Yamaha MS1 PS2 Controller with Harley Davidson & L.A. Riders

Postby DarylWise » Wed May 02, 2018 6:04 pm

So I just bought the kinda rare PS2 Motorbike Handlebar controller the Yamaha MS1 to play some of my ATV PS2 games but to also play Harley Davidson & L.A. Riders on Supermodel. Here is the one I bought with detailed pictures: https://www.ebay.com/itm/332553757541

So my question was, can I configure this to work with Supermodel? I have a PS2 to PC adapter but I've never configured controls for a Handlebar controller lol. Has anyone else done what I am doing and if so, can you please give me a quick tutorial on how to get things running?

Thanks.
DarylWise
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 9:43 pm

Re: Yamaha MS1 PS2 Controller with Harley Davidson & L.A. Ri

Postby anchounio » Wed May 02, 2018 11:32 pm

Mine is recognized as Joy7. I guess the pedals, brake and accelerator names are the tricky ones to input. Here you have how mines worked:

; Steering wheel
InputSteering = "JOY7_XAXIS" ; analog, full steering range

; Pedals
InputAccelerator = "JOY7_YAXIS_NEG"
InputBrake = "JOY7_YAXIS_POS"

; Single view change button (Dirt Devils, ECA, Harley-Davidson, Sega Rally 2)
InputViewChange = "JOY7_BUTTON7"

; Harley-Davidson controls
InputRearBrake = "JOY7_BUTTON13"
InputMusicSelect = "JOY7_BUTTON3"
anchounio
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 1:30 am

Re: Yamaha MS1 PS2 Controller with Harley Davidson & L.A. Ri

Postby MrThunderwing » Thu May 03, 2018 3:58 am

Use the -config-inputs option in Supermodel either using the CMD prompt or a batch file from the folder containing your Supermodel EXE and then use the option from that (the b key) to identify your controller axes.

Image
User avatar
MrThunderwing
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:31 am
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Yamaha MS1 PS2 Controller with Harley Davidson & L.A. Ri

Postby ConversusVans » Thu May 03, 2018 10:04 am

DarylWise wrote:So I just bought the kinda rare PS2 Motorbike Handlebar controller the Yamaha MS1 to play some of my ATV PS2 games but to also play Harley Davidson & L.A. Riders on Supermodel. Here is the one I bought with detailed pictures: https://www.ebay.com/itm/332553757541

So my question was, can I configure this to work with Supermodel? I have a PS2 to PC adapter but I've never configured controls for a Handlebar controller lol. Has anyone else done what I am doing and if so, can you please give me a quick tutorial on how to get things running?

Thanks.


I don't have this controller, but a similar one which is the Thrustmaster Freestyler Bike. Works great with this game. Only complaint is the gas and brakes are merged and hardwired on the same axis.

One thing that will help you out a bunch is if you change the joystick saturation, here's what you should put in your .ini folder: InputJoy1XSaturation = 180 (or however far the handlebar goes.
This is what I have for my Thrustmaster bike, your controller's buttons could be a little different.
InputSteering = "JOY1_XAXIS"
InputAccelerator = "JOY1_YAXIS_NEG"
InputBrake = "JOY1_YAXIS_POS"
InputRearBrake = "JOY2_YAXIS_NEG" -- I use my racing wheel pedals for this; helps you turn sharper in-game
InputMusicSelect = "KEY_D,JOY1_BUTTON7"
InputGearShiftUp = "KEY_Y,JOY1_BUTTON3"
InputGearShiftDown = "KEY_H,JOY1_BUTTON1"
InputViewChange = "KEY_A,JOY1_BUTTON6"
InputCoin1 = "KEY_3,JOY1_BUTTON9"
InputServiceA = "KEY_5"
InputServiceB = "KEY_7"
InputTestA = "KEY_6"
InputTestB = "KEY_8"

Nice to see someone else who wants to play this game the arcade way! :D
Let me know if you get it working; curious to see the Yamaha MS-1 in action and how the game works with it.
- Conversus W. Vans (Paul)
User avatar
ConversusVans
 
Posts: 238
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 3:27 pm
Location: South Carolina

Re: Yamaha MS1 PS2 Controller with Harley Davidson & L.A. Ri

Postby DarylWise » Thu May 03, 2018 6:13 pm

anchounio wrote:Mine is recognized as Joy7. I guess the pedals, brake and accelerator names are the tricky ones to input. Here you have how mines worked:

; Steering wheel
InputSteering = "JOY7_XAXIS" ; analog, full steering range

; Pedals
InputAccelerator = "JOY7_YAXIS_NEG"
InputBrake = "JOY7_YAXIS_POS"

; Single view change button (Dirt Devils, ECA, Harley-Davidson, Sega Rally 2)
InputViewChange = "JOY7_BUTTON7"

; Harley-Davidson controls
InputRearBrake = "JOY7_BUTTON13"
InputMusicSelect = "JOY7_BUTTON3"


Thanks so much for this! I will try this out!
DarylWise
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 9:43 pm

Re: Yamaha MS1 PS2 Controller with Harley Davidson & L.A. Ri

Postby DarylWise » Thu May 03, 2018 6:15 pm

MrThunderwing wrote:Use the -config-inputs option in Supermodel either using the CMD prompt or a batch file from the folder containing your Supermodel EXE and then use the option from that (the b key) to identify your controller axes.

Image


If the configs for the ini files everyone has shown me doesn't work, I will try this. Thank you.
DarylWise
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 9:43 pm

Re: Yamaha MS1 PS2 Controller with Harley Davidson & L.A. Ri

Postby DarylWise » Thu May 03, 2018 6:15 pm

ConversusVans wrote:
DarylWise wrote:So I just bought the kinda rare PS2 Motorbike Handlebar controller the Yamaha MS1 to play some of my ATV PS2 games but to also play Harley Davidson & L.A. Riders on Supermodel. Here is the one I bought with detailed pictures: https://www.ebay.com/itm/332553757541

So my question was, can I configure this to work with Supermodel? I have a PS2 to PC adapter but I've never configured controls for a Handlebar controller lol. Has anyone else done what I am doing and if so, can you please give me a quick tutorial on how to get things running?

Thanks.


I don't have this controller, but a similar one which is the Thrustmaster Freestyler Bike. Works great with this game. Only complaint is the gas and brakes are merged and hardwired on the same axis.

One thing that will help you out a bunch is if you change the joystick saturation, here's what you should put in your .ini folder: InputJoy1XSaturation = 180 (or however far the handlebar goes.
This is what I have for my Thrustmaster bike, your controller's buttons could be a little different.
InputSteering = "JOY1_XAXIS"
InputAccelerator = "JOY1_YAXIS_NEG"
InputBrake = "JOY1_YAXIS_POS"
InputRearBrake = "JOY2_YAXIS_NEG" -- I use my racing wheel pedals for this; helps you turn sharper in-game
InputMusicSelect = "KEY_D,JOY1_BUTTON7"
InputGearShiftUp = "KEY_Y,JOY1_BUTTON3"
InputGearShiftDown = "KEY_H,JOY1_BUTTON1"
InputViewChange = "KEY_A,JOY1_BUTTON6"
InputCoin1 = "KEY_3,JOY1_BUTTON9"
InputServiceA = "KEY_5"
InputServiceB = "KEY_7"
InputTestA = "KEY_6"
InputTestB = "KEY_8"

Nice to see someone else who wants to play this game the arcade way! :D
Let me know if you get it working; curious to see the Yamaha MS-1 in action and how the game works with it.


Thank you. I will also try this if all else fails.
DarylWise
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 9:43 pm

Re: Yamaha MS1 PS2 Controller with Harley Davidson & L.A. Ri

Postby DarylWise » Fri Aug 10, 2018 7:17 pm

Just a quick update for those who care or might stumble across this post from Google. I got it all working but this controller's biggest issue that is the steering is the only thing that is analog. The pedals actually are analog in the game too, so I used my analog steering pedals along with the controller for an all analog setup. I will be posting HD videos showing my setup. Going to be doing a big emulator series on my YouTube channel.
DarylWise
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 9:43 pm


Return to The Catwalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 4 guests

cron