Virtua Fighter 3 - Official Thread

Discuss Supermodel and your favorite Model 3 games. Show off your latest threads, this is the place to see and be seen.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Favourite character?

Akira
4
24%
Pai/Lau
2
12%
Wolf
0
No votes
Jeffry
0
No votes
Kage
1
6%
Sarah/Jacky
5
29%
Lion
3
18%
Shun
1
6%
Aoi
0
No votes
Taka
1
6%
 
Total votes : 17

Re: Virtua Fighter 3 - Official Thread

Postby Bart » Mon Apr 09, 2012 4:34 pm

Trojan X wrote:Yeah, it is a massive pity. I would have been all over the emu game like being over a fine ass clean girl. Unfortunately, I had to made do what I thought was the next best thing... 1080p VF3 DC. It still looks fantastic though but you and I both know that the Model 3 simply looks better. Soon as VF3 is working, I'm going to hook it up to a HD projector and start a new tournament! It's going to be incredible.


I simply won't have time over the next few months but something that would be worthwhile to try would be incorporating Dolphin's PowerPC emulator into Supermodel. Both emulators use the same open source license. The Gekko stuff has to be stripped out and the timing (for the time base and decrementer registers) fiddled with. If the corrupted geometry in VF3 and Sega Rally 2 is indeed being caused by a bug in the CPU emulation, dropping in another CPU core would have a high probability of exposing the problem.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2317
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: Santa Clara, California

Re: Virtua Fighter 3 - Official Thread

Postby AnimalBear » Mon Apr 09, 2012 4:41 pm

Bart wrote:
Trojan X wrote:Yeah, it is a massive pity. I would have been all over the emu game like being over a fine ass clean girl. Unfortunately, I had to made do what I thought was the next best thing... 1080p VF3 DC. It still looks fantastic though but you and I both know that the Model 3 simply looks better. Soon as VF3 is working, I'm going to hook it up to a HD projector and start a new tournament! It's going to be incredible.


I simply won't have time over the next few months but something that would be worthwhile to try would be incorporating Dolphin's PowerPC emulator into Supermodel. Both emulators use the same open source license. The Gekko stuff has to be stripped out and the timing (for the time base and decrementer registers) fiddled with. If the corrupted geometry in VF3 and Sega Rally 2 is indeed being caused by a bug in the CPU emulation, dropping in another CPU core would very likely help us identify it.


Bart Thanks to nikd update some levels on VF3 is getting better on the graphics. Just a pity small fix. ;) Some Walls as gone.
AnimalBear
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 5:28 am

Re: Virtua Fighter 3 - Official Thread

Postby Trojan X » Thu Apr 12, 2012 2:28 pm

Bart wrote:
Trojan X wrote:Yeah, it is a massive pity. I would have been all over the emu game like being over a fine ass clean girl. Unfortunately, I had to made do what I thought was the next best thing... 1080p VF3 DC. It still looks fantastic though but you and I both know that the Model 3 simply looks better. Soon as VF3 is working, I'm going to hook it up to a HD projector and start a new tournament! It's going to be incredible.


I simply won't have time over the next few months but something that would be worthwhile to try would be incorporating Dolphin's PowerPC emulator into Supermodel. Both emulators use the same open source license. The Gekko stuff has to be stripped out and the timing (for the time base and decrementer registers) fiddled with. If the corrupted geometry in VF3 and Sega Rally 2 is indeed being caused by a bug in the CPU emulation, dropping in another CPU core would have a high probability of exposing the problem.


That sounds promising, Bart. Please keep us updated, as always. :)
Trojan X
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:03 am

Re: Virtua Fighter 3 - Official Thread

Postby Nick1984 » Tue May 01, 2012 12:46 pm

Latest emulator progress

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uguKdLrMkPM

Almost good enough for one of Trojan's vids, the glitches only seem to be in the intro.

That new PC is getting closer :)

Edit: Spoke too soon, Kage went all hypernova near the end :D
Image
User avatar
Nick1984
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:28 am
Location: UK

Re: Virtua Fighter 3 - Official Thread

Postby Trojan X » Tue May 01, 2012 2:55 pm

Holy crap. Please give me the latest version anyway. Just so I can play it.
Trojan X
 
Posts: 146
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 3:03 am

Re: Virtua Fighter 3 - Official Thread

Postby GamerGee » Wed May 02, 2012 8:02 am

i watched that video the iron man contest.. that dude whipped peoples asses like the yougn mike tyson did back in the days..lol that dude was like serious too..lol
Machine: Mac Pro 2,2 (Dual Quad Xeon @ 3GHZ)
OSX 10.6.7 / (Bootcamp 64-Bit Windows 7 Ultimate)
9GB Ram
ATI Radeon 5770 (PC Flashed To EFI Mac)
X360 Pad Soon To Be G27 Wheel
GamerGee
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 9:45 am

Re: Virtua Fighter 3 - Official Thread

Postby Nick1984 » Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:07 am

Thought I'd bump this

I've been watching the latest videos online and this just looks incredible now

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uWajxxah1FU

I remember when the project started and the game was a glitchy mess with echoey sound, polygon clipping and backgrounds not displaying.

Congrats guys, you did it!
Image
User avatar
Nick1984
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:28 am
Location: UK

Re: Virtua Fighter 3 - Official Thread

Postby Bart » Fri Jun 14, 2019 12:00 pm

Agreed. The game looks fabulous now! I think it's what originally inspired Ian to poke around with Supermodel. If I remember correctly, he wrote me saying something like "it shouldn't be too hard to fix it" :D The engine he ended up writing and all his various discoveries about Model 3 rendering have truly transformed the project.

By the way, the subway stage in the final match with Dural reminds me a lot of Queensboro Plaza station, which was my stop on the N train for over 3 years in New York. I even bumped into Dural a few times. She hasn't aged a bit with that liquid titanium skin.

Image
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2317
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: Santa Clara, California

Re: Virtua Fighter 3 - Official Thread

Postby VirtuaHunter » Fri Jun 14, 2019 2:44 pm

Nick1984 wrote:Thought I'd bump this

I've been watching the latest videos online and this just looks incredible now

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uWajxxah1FU

I remember when the project started and the game was a glitchy mess with echoey sound, polygon clipping and backgrounds not displaying.

Congrats guys, you did it!


They all did a wonderful job, the level reached by supermodel is incredible :D

now the big thing that remain is to adjust is the sound emulation.
User avatar
VirtuaHunter
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:47 am

Re: Virtua Fighter 3 - Official Thread

Postby Nick1984 » Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:13 am

Bart wrote:By the way, the subway stage in the final match with Dural reminds me a lot of Queensboro Plaza station, which was my stop on the N train for over 3 years in New York. I even bumped into Dural a few times. She hasn't aged a bit with that liquid titanium skin.


It's a shame they ditched the subway design from the beta (see my avatar) with the blue and yellow floor.

The game still looks lovely, I think it's down to the art style as much as the technical side, it's aged a lot better than VF4 for me. That beach intro is gorgeous in 4K.
Image
User avatar
Nick1984
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 5:28 am
Location: UK

Previous

Return to The Catwalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 6 guests