The Official Supermodel Work-in-Progress Thread

Discuss Supermodel and your favorite Model 3 games. Show off your latest threads, this is the place to see and be seen.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Re: The Official Supermodel Work-in-Progress Thread

Postby MichaelMichael54321 » Sun Jan 06, 2013 2:54 am

dustyjo wrote:Exactly what I did:

[*]Start up supermodel and cheat engine, wait for attract mode to start, then hook cheat engine to supermodel.exe and search for all values of type "byte" with the value of 0.
[*]Now, go into the service menu and under Game Assignments set the machine to be "MASTER". Select what car # you want to be here as well. Exit the the service menu.
[*]When you get the "NETWORK BOARD NOT PRESENT" screen, search for the value "1" and click "next scan".
[*]Repeat the above two steps with "SLAVE" and "LIVE" modes, with values 2 and 3 respectively.
[*]Now set the machine back to "SINGLE" mode, and scan for the value 0 again during attract mode.
[*]You should have 6 or 7 memory locations listed on the left side now. Check if any of them change, and double-click the ones that don't to put them in the table at the bottom, and check the box on the left of each one.
[*]Set them all to "1". This shouldn't hurt anything, and we're going to find the proper value in the next steps.
[*]The select screen should pop up normally, but the cars will have their multiplayer skins. Go ahead and choose a track and car and all that stuff.
[*]You'll notice that it'll get stuck at "Waiting for other players" after the transmission select. To fix this, go back to cheat engine and start setting the values you found to 0.
[*]When you hear the sound of a car being started, you've found the right one. Immediately set this bit back to 1, and you can uncheck or delete the rest.
[*]That's it! You should now be driving the multiplayer car that you selected in the service menu.

Yes it's a bit complicated, but something like this could be implemented as an emulator function or a proper cheat. Also, you'll have to do this every time you start the program since the memory addresses change for some reason.


Jiterdomer wrote:Señor Nuexzz, can you try Scud Race with your method?

I've tried mine with scud race, and the game just freezes immediately. :(
Check what addresses to be active? The values that are constantly changing, or the first 6 or 7 addresses?
MichaelMichael54321 wrote:"You haven't seen SEGA's arcade success like this...Sega Model 3"


My gaming rig specs, courtesy of CPU-Z:
http://valid.x86.fr/i35lsi
User avatar
MichaelMichael54321
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 4:12 pm
Location: Lansing, MI

Re: The Official Supermodel Work-in-Progress Thread

Postby dustyjo » Sun Jan 06, 2013 3:06 am

Well if you did it right, you should only have around 6 or 7 left. If they ever change while the program is running, then they aren't the right ones.
dustyjo
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 2:04 am

Re: The Official Supermodel Work-in-Progress Thread

Postby Groomery » Mon Jan 07, 2013 5:11 am

Model 1 havent been updated in mame for Along time!
Are the bugs so hard to solve? I would love to see Virtua Fighter perfect emulated some day!
User avatar
Groomery
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:05 am
Location: Sweden

Re: The Official Supermodel Work-in-Progress Thread

Postby Jiterdomer » Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:08 pm

Groomery wrote:Model 1 havent been updated in mame for Along time!
Are the bugs so hard to solve? I would love to see Virtua Fighter perfect emulated some day!


The only bug in Virtua Fighter is the hair clipping that renders below the ground instead of sticking into the char's heads.
Feel the heartbeat of my machine through this tight seat. I feel every motion of my machine
Image
User avatar
Jiterdomer
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: The Official Supermodel Work-in-Progress Thread

Postby Groomery » Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:32 pm

Jiterdomer wrote:
Groomery wrote:Model 1 havent been updated in mame for Along time!
Are the bugs so hard to solve? I would love to see Virtua Fighter perfect emulated some day!


The only bug in Virtua Fighter is the hair clipping that renders below the ground instead of sticking into the char's heads.


Thats not correct! The physics is screwed up! Try to jump and you see what i mean, there is also other glitches around.. I have the Original Model 1 Virtua Fighter PCB so i know what im talking about!
User avatar
Groomery
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:05 am
Location: Sweden

Re: The Official Supermodel Work-in-Progress Thread

Postby Groomery » Tue Jan 08, 2013 3:38 pm

Here is a video of my Virtua Fighter 1 PCB. Im Playing some matches! Compare that to mame and you vill see many
bugs compare to the original. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EXuiW2Z92XM
User avatar
Groomery
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:05 am
Location: Sweden

Re: The Official Supermodel Work-in-Progress Thread

Postby Bart » Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:41 pm

It's a miracle that Model 1 has been emulated at all. If I understand correctly, the TGP co-processor was reverse engineered without any actual documentation, which is an extraordinary fit. Subtle bugs are always difficult to identify in CPU emulators, even if documentation is available. We should all be thankful for what has been accomplished so far, bugs and warts included.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2058
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: The Official Supermodel Work-in-Progress Thread

Postby Jiterdomer » Tue Jan 08, 2013 9:15 pm

Bart wrote:It's a miracle that Model 1 has been emulated at all. If I understand correctly, the TGP co-processor was reverse engineered without any actual documentation, which is an extraordinary fit. Subtle bugs are always difficult to identify in CPU emulators, even if documentation is available. We should all be thankful for what has been accomplished so far, bugs and warts included.


You mean the network emulation? Or some sort of processor?
Feel the heartbeat of my machine through this tight seat. I feel every motion of my machine
Image
User avatar
Jiterdomer
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: The Official Supermodel Work-in-Progress Thread

Postby AnimalBear » Wed Jan 09, 2013 8:20 am

Jiterdomer wrote:
Bart wrote:It's a miracle that Model 1 has been emulated at all. If I understand correctly, the TGP co-processor was reverse engineered without any actual documentation, which is an extraordinary fit. Subtle bugs are always difficult to identify in CPU emulators, even if documentation is available. We should all be thankful for what has been accomplished so far, bugs and warts included.


You mean the network emulation? Or some sort of processor?


The two things. ;)
AnimalBear
 
Posts: 469
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 5:28 am

Re: The Official Supermodel Work-in-Progress Thread

Postby Bart » Wed Jan 09, 2013 3:51 pm

Jiterdomer wrote:You mean the network emulation? Or some sort of processor?


I was referring to the original emulation of Model 1. Its 3D hardware is comprised of ancient Fujitsu DSPs for which no real documentation exists.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2058
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

PreviousNext

Return to The Catwalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests