Help!

Linux geeks and Mac OS hipsters unite! A board for discussion of Supermodel on non-Windows platforms.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Help!

Postby Rasterico » Wed Aug 20, 2014 6:32 am

[Ok guys this is my first post here so please be kind to a total newb looking to get this up and running!

I've been using emulators for years now and have experience in all the popular ones such as MAME, Model 2, Daphne and suchlike, in fact I have a half cabinet set up at home for all my emulator purposes!

image.jpg
image.jpg (131.58 KiB) Viewed 4353 times


Recently though I've made the switch and bought an all singing, all dancing iMac which I'm just about getting to grips with.

I've managed to get the model 3 emulator sort of up and running but unfortunately I keep running into the same fault as most people running Mavericks where the roms crash after a few seconds of running, after studying various posts on here I'm lead to believe that the emulator needs to be recompiled with a couple of lines of code changed to function properly, unfortunately I'm so new to Macs that I don't have the first clue where to start, I'm certainly no coder and have absolutely no experience of Xcode or any of the other tools mentioned but I am willing to learn if it means getting Daytona 2 and Starwars Trilogy up and running!

My question to you guys is can anyone explain in laymans terms how to go about starting, are there any guides available that explain in a simple way what would be required of me and also do you guys think it would be easy enough for someone with absolutely no experience of mac operating systems to fathom? Nearly every emulator I've ever used has come with an easy to use front end so even using the terminal to run it is new territory for me!

Thanks for reading and I really hope one of you guys can help me out as I'm desperate to put my new toy through its paces in the emulator world!

Thanks in advance!
Rasterico
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 11:13 am

Re: Help!

Postby mattsoft » Thu Aug 21, 2014 9:27 am

check your private messages and your problems will be solved. :) BTW, that mini-cabinet is sweet. did you build that or what?
mattsoft
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Help!

Postby Rasterico » Thu Aug 21, 2014 4:27 pm

You my friend are an absolute legend! That worked flawlessly!

I've not had a chance to try it out properly as I've had family commitments today but it definitely runs which is exactly what I was looking for!

One other question for you though, is there a widescreen option? I have a 27" iMac and in the standard settings it runs kinda windowed for a normal screen, it would be awesome to get it proper full screen if such an option is available!

Re my cabinet, I actually bought it from a friend who was moving abroad, it was a self build though, he pulled some plans from the internet and actually made the cabinet out of MDF along with a friends help, it contains a shuttle PC which is a dual core and runs MAME, Model 2, Daphne, ALG, N64, SNES, NES, Gameboy, Megadrive/Genesis, 32X, Mastersystem, PC Engine and a few others, it uses Hyperspjn as a front end and is flawless at running all of them, I did originally try to put Supermodel on it as well but it wasn't quite up to the job, luckily my new iMac is powerful enough to do it without breaking a sweat!

Once again I can't thank you enough for your help, I really do appreciate it!
Rasterico
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 11:13 am

Re: Help!

Postby mattsoft » Thu Aug 21, 2014 8:04 pm

http://www.supermodel3.com/AdvancedUsage.html is your best friend. I believe the config is WideScreen = 1 or something in the ini file. Widescreen doesn't work on all games (looks good on Daytona, but Star Wars Trilogy is wonky).
mattsoft
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 8:39 pm

Re: Help!

Postby Rasterico » Fri Aug 22, 2014 1:00 am

Thanks for all your help, I'll have a go later and put it through its paces :)
Rasterico
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2014 11:13 am

Re: Help!

Postby Arbee » Mon Sep 29, 2014 1:33 pm

These games were intended for the older-style square-ish TV screens so the "widescreen" option is a hack that doesn't always work out well.
Arbee
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 6:41 pm


Return to Alternative Fashion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest