well it was working

Linux geeks and Mac OS hipsters unite! A board for discussion of Supermodel on non-Windows platforms.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

well it was working

Postby gareth_iowc » Sat Nov 17, 2012 1:21 pm

Good evening,

right i'm running mountain lion and the emu was working fine. closed and opened the emu a few times with no problems.... but all of a sudden it's stopped working.

Here is what happens:
Code: Select all
Gareths-MacBook-Pro:~ Gareth$ /Users/Gareth/Desktop/Supermodel/Supermodel dayto2pe.zip
Supermodel: A Sega Model 3 Arcade Emulator (Version 0.2a)
Copyright (C) 2011 by Bart Trzynadlowski and Nik Henson

Error: Could not open 'dayto2pe.zip'.
Error: Failed to load ROM set.


I'm using the same rom that was working fine.

I have tried:
Deleted supermodel and all its files and re-downloaded a fresh copy.
Deleted the rom and re-downloaded a fresh copy.
Deleted SDL Framework and re-downloaded a fresh copy.
Restarted the mac.
-fullscreen.

Here is a link to my full laptop specs. I'm running the 15" http://support.apple.com/kb/SP649?viewlocale=en_US

Any suggestions?

Thanks
gareth_iowc
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 1:02 pm

Re: well it was working

Postby nikdd » Sat Nov 17, 2012 2:32 pm

Hi Gareth,

gareth_iowc wrote:Here is what happens:
Code: Select all
Gareths-MacBook-Pro:~ Gareth$ /Users/Gareth/Desktop/Supermodel/Supermodel dayto2pe.zip
Supermodel: A Sega Model 3 Arcade Emulator (Version 0.2a)
Copyright (C) 2011 by Bart Trzynadlowski and Nik Henson

Error: Could not open 'dayto2pe.zip'.
Error: Failed to load ROM set.



I think the problem is not to do with your Supermodel, SDL installation or ROM zip file, rather it is simply that Supermodel cannot find the zip file at the location you are specifying.

I assume the ROM file is in the same directory as the Supermodel executable, in which case you should either:

1) Run Supermodel with the full path to the zip file, like so:

Code: Select all
Gareths-MacBook-Pro:~ Gareth$ /Users/Gareth/Desktop/Supermodel/Supermodel /Users/Gareth/Desktop/Supermodel/Supermodel/dayto2pe.zip


Or

2) 'cd' into the directory containing Supermodel and the ROM first, and then run Supermodel from there, eg:

Code: Select all
Gareths-MacBook-Pro:~ Gareth$ cd /Users/Gareth/Desktop/Supermodel/Supermodel
Gareths-MacBook-Pro:Supermodel Gareth$ ./Supermodel dayto2pe.zip


I suspect that the first time you ran it, you were already in the correct directory and so this is why it worked.

Hope that helps, Nik.
nikdd
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:39 am
Location: London

Re: well it was working

Postby gareth_iowc » Sat Nov 17, 2012 4:28 pm

ah yes many thanks nik. originally i had cd into the directory and did not the last time i tried.

Many thanks
gareth_iowc
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 1:02 pm

Re: well it was working

Postby nikdd » Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:45 pm

Hi Gareth,

gareth_iowc wrote:ah yes many thanks nik. originally i had cd into the directory and did not the last time i tried.

Many thanks


Great - glad it's working for you now!

Cheers, Nik.
nikdd
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:39 am
Location: London


Return to Alternative Fashion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests