Making Star Wars Trilogy force feedback hardware work

Technical discussion for those interested in Supermodel development and Model 3 reverse engineering. Prospective contributors welcome.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Re: Making Star Wars Trilogy force feedback hardware work

Postby Bart » Mon Nov 14, 2016 8:25 am

Oh no :( That's really too bad. I'm not too familiar with SWT's force feedback? Did it vibrate the joystick or actually knock it around in different directions?
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1827
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Making Star Wars Trilogy force feedback hardware work

Postby luisfcorreia » Tue Nov 15, 2016 9:14 am

Good news!

the board has been found!
SWT-ffb.jpg
SWT-ffb.jpg (244.89 KiB) Viewed 929 times


SWT has force feedback in two axes, that's the big difference from all other force feedback machines.
ffb-hw.jpg
ffb-hw.jpg (140.72 KiB) Viewed 929 times


Even more news as I'll uncover them!

Cheers!
luisfcorreia
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 1:13 am

Re: Making Star Wars Trilogy force feedback hardware work

Postby luisfcorreia » Tue Nov 15, 2016 12:52 pm

aaaand after a HUGE facepalm, I see that this driveboard ROM is present in the game files since forever.

it's what epr21119.ic8 is for, drive board rom

now on with investigating supermodel3 innards
luisfcorreia
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 1:13 am

Re: Making Star Wars Trilogy force feedback hardware work

Postby SailorSat » Tue Nov 15, 2016 3:44 pm

First tests on my side didn't show any feedback outputs on the usual ports - lamps worked fine.
I'll check in MAME later.
SailorSat
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 4:26 am

Re: Making Star Wars Trilogy force feedback hardware work

Postby luisfcorreia » Thu Nov 17, 2016 12:15 am

AKAICS, in MAME the doesn't even work properly.

I tried MAME 179 and I only get a black screen.
luisfcorreia
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 1:13 am

Re: Making Star Wars Trilogy force feedback hardware work

Postby Joaquim Gonçalves » Thu Nov 17, 2016 7:15 am

That Rust... :)

Image

Can´t wait to see some miracle in the future.
Waiting...
User avatar
Joaquim Gonçalves
 
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 5:12 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Making Star Wars Trilogy force feedback hardware work

Postby SailorSat » Thu Nov 17, 2016 4:33 pm

luisfcorreia wrote:AKAICS, in MAME the doesn't even work properly.
I tried MAME 179 and I only get a black screen.


I can boot the game, but I am unable to reach the service menu for now :(

There seems to be some hardware access to 0xC10000xx

1 write to 0xC1000038, 0xC0 and two reads from 0xC1000014 (checked for 0x01 and 0x04) -

What model3 stepping does sw trilogy use?
SailorSat
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 4:26 am

Re: Making Star Wars Trilogy force feedback hardware work

Postby luisfcorreia » Fri Nov 18, 2016 1:26 am

that rust will be dealt with.

we've got a plan be to make FFB work again even if through some other techniques.

BTW, did anyone bother with figuring out how the drive board talks to the actual power board?
luisfcorreia
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2016 1:13 am

Re: Making Star Wars Trilogy force feedback hardware work

Postby Bart » Tue Nov 22, 2016 12:06 pm

SailorSat wrote:
luisfcorreia wrote:AKAICS, in MAME the doesn't even work properly.
I tried MAME 179 and I only get a black screen.


I can boot the game, but I am unable to reach the service menu for now :(

There seems to be some hardware access to 0xC10000xx

1 write to 0xC1000038, 0xC0 and two reads from 0xC1000014 (checked for 0x01 and 0x04) -

What model3 stepping does sw trilogy use?


This is the SCSI controller range but as far as I know, the Step 2.x games (like SWT) do *not* have this device. The Real3D firmware libraries were almost certainly written to be compatible with multiple board revisions, hence why they often seem to contain code that can use either the SCSI for DMA transfer or the custom DMA device that appeared in Step 2.x.

This sequence of writes is unusual. It is not checking device ID but rather looks like it's setting the device up and then checking whether any interrupts are pending. Is this what happens in Supermodel? I don't think I take any precautions to make the SCSI invisible on Step 2.x games. But Star Wars definitely uses the custom DMA device (which we emulate in Real3D.cpp) for all transfers between CPU<->Real3D memory.

DMA should have nothing to do with the drive board.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1827
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Making Star Wars Trilogy force feedback hardware work

Postby SailorSat » Tue Nov 22, 2016 2:05 pm

Hm...
We'll find the feedback data - should not be too complicated.

I am curious because the usual drive board port does not seem to be accessed at all. Lights are accessed as usual.
I doubt they did something special - an 8 bit port should be more than enough :)
SailorSat
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2016 4:26 am

PreviousNext

Return to The Dark Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests