Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Technical discussion for those interested in Supermodel development and Model 3 reverse engineering. Prospective contributors welcome.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Kacperas » Thu Dec 15, 2016 1:26 pm

Regarding no sync, a few years ago, when sound/music weren't emulated, there was a talk about the way in which, it should be implemented. If anything hasn't changed since that time, then no sync is a design choice.
Kacperas
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 9:35 am

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Bart » Sun Apr 09, 2017 8:18 am

Spindizzi: regarding the VF3 fix:

Code: Select all
SCSPDSP_SetSample(&SCSPs[0].DSP,/*sample>>5*/(sample*LPANTABLE[(Enc|0xE0)/*&0xFFE0*/])>>(SHIFT+3)/*>>SHIFT*/,ISEL(slot),IMXL(slot));


What is the reasoning behind this? Did you consult with any documentation or the MAME source code to figure out that the masking the index to LPANTABLE is not necessary? I'm curious whether it might impact audio in other games.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1917
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby ConversusVans » Sun Apr 09, 2017 8:47 am

I'm most excited if the SCSP sound ever gets updated, though it might be a long time. The Lost World's music is sounding grainy, but Harley-Davidson's sounds okay. At least the attract music works compared to the M1 music player.
- Conversus W. Vans (Paul)
User avatar
ConversusVans
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 3:27 pm
Location: The Abandoned Land

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Jiterdomer » Sun Apr 09, 2017 10:34 am

We're still using Elsemi's audio code so that's why it had flaws to the audio emulation, so we will wait for someone to have better audio code to implement to Supermodel.
Feel the heartbeat of my machine through this tight seat. I feel every motion of my machine
Image
User avatar
Jiterdomer
 
Posts: 464
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 6:37 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby ConversusVans » Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:08 am

Jiterdomer wrote:We're still using Elsemi's audio code so that's why it had flaws to the audio emulation, so we will wait for someone to have better audio code to implement to Supermodel.


Model 2 Emulator's isn't even perfect either, unfortunately. House of the Dead uses FM in some of its songs, and ElSemi never managed to perfect that. :\
- Conversus W. Vans (Paul)
User avatar
ConversusVans
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 3:27 pm
Location: The Abandoned Land

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Spindizzi » Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:05 am

Hi,
I've no doc on this, I've certainly looked inside Mame source, to try to understand that part but Mame has a so different architecture compare to Supermodel. It's very hard for me to understand Mame
As I can remember, when The bug was reported, I've searched into soundboard code since I've a little learned by myself about soundboard for sr2
I've done multiple tests about SCSP part and the dsp in particular.When I disabled it, I immediately saw that it came from dsp part (I even enabled the old reverbe code in my tests)
So I was interested in each lines referring to the DSP
I build, test, change, spying variables, debuging frame by frame etc... And I saw every time the music collapse, the masking value change also (decreasing to 0, if I well remember)
Like I said in original post I can't explain why originaly it was needed to mask this value
Strangely, this doesn't have bad effects on other games and it can be easily reverted
Spindizzi
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 8:55 am
Location: France

Previous

Return to The Dark Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest