Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Technical discussion for those interested in Supermodel development and Model 3 reverse engineering. Prospective contributors welcome.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Spindizzi » Sat Nov 26, 2016 8:13 am

Hi Terminento
Thx for feedback about x32 version
This little mod has nothing to do with sound clear and crisp, just correct intro music with no mix and riviera music (no music originally)
Can't reproduce what you get, may be others confirm not working correctly ?
Take a look at this little record I made (running x32 version on x64 system, jap config like you). I get the same thing with the x64 and euro (with euro intro of course)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/rvww4atfigx9s40/sr2-music-intro-riviera.mp4?dl=0
++
Spindizzi
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 8:55 am
Location: France

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby terminento » Sat Nov 26, 2016 9:19 am

Sorry, I tried again, and both tracks play at the same time. I hope it has nothing to do with the NVRAM, as I have the extra cars unlocked in that one, LOL
Also, I did notice that the music in spikeout final edition doesn't play. However, I don't have a regular compilation of rev500 to compare it to compare it to, so I don't know if it has to do with the mod or the emulator itself.
I'm sorry I can't be of more help.
User avatar
terminento
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 8:08 am

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Kacperas » Sat Nov 26, 2016 9:28 am

terminento wrote:Sorry, I tried again, and both tracks play at the same time. I hope it has nothing to do with the NVRAM, as I have the extra cars unlocked in that one, LOL
Also, I did notice that the music in spikeout final edition doesn't play. However, I don't have a regular compilation of rev500 to compare it to compare it to, so I don't know if it has to do with the mod or the emulator itself.
I'm sorry I can't be of more help.

I have checked and this is connected with NVRAM. Without unlocked cars, sound is fixed, however with unlocked cars it isn't. Moreover the same problem is with training Mountain course.
Kacperas
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 9:35 am

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Spindizzi » Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:31 am

Re,
Interresting!
Could someone post nvram with unlocked car or say to me how to unlock (cheat ?) please ?
++
Spindizzi
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 8:55 am
Location: France

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Shekel » Sat Nov 26, 2016 11:28 am

That's odd, it can't be an issue connected with the hidden cars, it doesn't make sense. I used Spindizzi's dsb.cpp, compiled my own (x64) and SR2 does have the sound working properly on the intro and Riviera (arcade and practise mode). I do have the cars unlocked (as found here https://www.supermodel3.com/Forum/viewt ... 1142#p7837) but starting the game with a fresh NVRAM also works properly.

The only problem left is like Kacperas said, the practise Mountain course is playing 2 songs.
User avatar
Shekel
 
Posts: 341
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 12:45 pm

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Bart » Sat Nov 26, 2016 11:42 am

I haven't looked at it myself yet but try to make sure this isn't a problem caused by loading save states. If the music fix modifies a state variable in DSB.cpp that is loaded/saved, that could explain it.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1840
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Spindizzi » Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:23 pm

Hi,
I have updated link of compiled .exe x32 and x64 on the previous posts, so download it again for the new test version
I tested with the nvram given by Shekel, and effectively, on the same register, differents commands appears
ST_GOTA0: not only 0x4f but also 0x4a and 0x53
ST_GOTB1: not only 0x4f but also 0x46 and 0x5d
but why ? savestate as you think ?
Question : are there different musics in practice mode ?
I'll Look tomorrow for that because evening here
++
Spindizzi
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 8:55 am
Location: France

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Kacperas » Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:32 pm

Bart wrote:I haven't looked at it myself yet but try to make sure this isn't a problem caused by loading save states. If the music fix modifies a state variable in DSB.cpp that is loaded/saved, that could explain it.

I didn't used save states. Checked again with 32-bit compiled SVN500 with results:
- New NVRAM without unlocked cars - music is OK in attract mode, until full screen Sega Rally 2 logo will show. At that moment, volume will get quieter for few seconds and then different music will be played from one of channels until logo will disappear. Then music will be played normally again.
- NVRAM from this post with country set to EXPORT - two different tracks are played in attract mode at the same time.
- My "old" NVRAM with unlocked cars - same as above.

Spindizzi wrote:
Re,
Interresting!
Could someone post nvram with unlocked car or say to me how to unlock (cheat ?) please ?
++

I have enclosed NVRAM with unlocked cars and country code changed to EXPORT.

//EDIT

Spindizzi wrote:
Hi,
I have updated link of compiled .exe x32 and x64 on the previous posts, so download it again for the new test version
I tested with the nvram given by Shekel, and effectively, on the same register, differents commands appears
ST_GOTA0: not only 0x4f but also 0x4a and 0x53
ST_GOTB1: not only 0x4f but also 0x46 and 0x5d
but why ? savestate as you think ?
Question : are there different musics in practice mode ?
I'll Look tomorrow for that because evening here
++


Just checked and while problem is still present in attract mode, training Mountain course was fixed - thanks. :)
Attachments
srally2.zip
Country code: EXPORT
(1.62 KiB) Downloaded 42 times
Kacperas
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 9:35 am

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Spindizzi » Sat Nov 26, 2016 1:22 pm

I Make a new test with the new nvram from Kacperas -> new differents values again
so radical fix:
case ST_GOTA0:
if (byte != 0x00) monochannel = 1; else monochannel = 0;
and
case ST_GOTB1:
if (byte != 0x00) monochannel = 2; else monochannel = 0;

question is :
why these values (commands) fluctuate when changing nvram and what are they representing ?

I updated again the links x32 x64 with this fix -> you need to redownload again
++
Spindizzi
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 8:55 am
Location: France

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Kacperas » Sat Nov 26, 2016 1:39 pm

Spindizzi wrote:I Make a new test with the new nvram from Kacperas -> new differents values again
so radical fix:
case ST_GOTA0:
if (byte != 0x00) monochannel = 1; else monochannel = 0;
and
case ST_GOTB1:
if (byte != 0x00) monochannel = 2; else monochannel = 0;

Snowy and Riviera training courses were lacking music before... well, before as you have now fixed it. :D
Attract mode was also fully fixed (with the issue mentioned before) and music in Championship mode is also working fine. Thanks a lot!
Kacperas
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 9:35 am

PreviousNext

Return to The Dark Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests