Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Technical discussion for those interested in Supermodel development and Model 3 reverse engineering. Prospective contributors welcome.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby terminator2k2 » Mon Nov 28, 2016 2:25 pm

while were chatting about the audio in supermodel....is it me or is the game announcer in Daytona USA too low? phrases like time extension seems really low......
terminator2k2
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 5:30 am

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby LsrgcBath » Mon Nov 28, 2016 2:41 pm

terminator2k2 wrote:while were chatting about the audio in supermodel....is it me or is the game announcer in Daytona USA too low? phrases like time extension seems really low......


Yes, by default it's a bit low, and also the balance is not very good.

Try using my configs at the prompt or paste into .bat if this is the case with you.

These are the settings I use in the two daytona´s ...

For Daytona USA 2 Battle on the Edge:

Code: Select all
-balance=15 -sound-volume=130 -music-volume=170


For Daytona USA 2 Power Edition:

Code: Select all
balance=-40 -sound-volume=130 -music-volume=160



Also, this is my adjustment for Scud Race Export:

Code: Select all
-balance=40 -sound-volume=130 -music-volume=160


Try and see, or rather, listen, and tell me if it feels better.
User avatar
LsrgcBath
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Brazil - Sao Paulo

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Bart » Mon Nov 28, 2016 3:26 pm

Spindizzi wrote:Hello again,
I would like to have your opinion on a possibly very little bug always in the sr2 music
At the end of attract mode, when title sega rally appears, music volume starts to decrease (seems to be OK) but after, new title "http:\\" appears and volume goes up (seems to be bad)

I investigate the command/data
during attract mode (game footage) I get the normal volume data value
during sega rally title screen I get the volume data value that start to decrease
during http:\\ title screen I get a new command I think (0x96) .This can't be a volume data value because based on my findings, volume data value does not exceed value of 0x8d (at least for sr2)
actually, it's processed like a volume data value so volume goes up

If I detect when I get this command (0x96) and if I stop music then it seems to me a bit abrupt

Question is what this new supposed command does
-stop music ?
-fade music ?
-other ?
-does this appear in other games ?
-Where to treat this command ?
ST_GOTB4 actually empty and working if I stop music here
ST_GOTB0 I don't think so, it's for setting volume
ST_GOTA0 I don't think so, it's for choosing audio channel
ST_GOTA4 Actually for specific case daytona2pe advertise tune

Original video attract mode (look at 3:06 and compare with supermodel)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KVut7KrHPVY

the code would be only (dsb.cpp CDSB2::WriteMPEGFIFO())
case ST_GOTB4:
if (byte == 0x96)
{
MPEG_StopPlaying();
playing = 0;
}
mpegState = ST_IDLE;
break;

++


The DSB2 code was taken from R. Belmont's m1 (video game music player). I don't know how he reverse engineered it but it looks to me like most of these command codes are actually unknown and he put together a state machine that works well enough to play tracks on demand. It's quite likely there is a structure to these commands that we are unaware of.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1905
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby terminator2k2 » Mon Nov 28, 2016 3:49 pm

LsrgcBath wrote:
terminator2k2 wrote:while were chatting about the audio in supermodel....is it me or is the game announcer in Daytona USA too low? phrases like time extension seems really low......


Yes, by default it's a bit low, and also the balance is not very good.

Try using my configs at the prompt or paste into .bat if this is the case with you.

These are the settings I use in the two daytona´s ...

For Daytona USA 2 Battle on the Edge:

Code: Select all
-balance=15 -sound-volume=130 -music-volume=170


For Daytona USA 2 Power Edition:

Code: Select all
balance=-40 -sound-volume=130 -music-volume=160



Also, this is my adjustment for Scud Race Export:

Code: Select all
-balance=40 -sound-volume=130 -music-volume=160


Try and see, or rather, listen, and tell me if it feels better.


cheers , just re-tried them with your settings and i noticed a big improvement in Daytona USA 2 Power Edition, i can hear the "Time Extension" now and a radio chatter.....
terminator2k2
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2016 5:30 am

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby LsrgcBath » Mon Nov 28, 2016 6:33 pm

terminator2k2 wrote:
LsrgcBath wrote:
terminator2k2 wrote:while were chatting about the audio in supermodel....is it me or is the game announcer in Daytona USA too low? phrases like time extension seems really low......


Yes, by default it's a bit low, and also the balance is not very good.

Try using my configs at the prompt or paste into .bat if this is the case with you.

These are the settings I use in the two daytona´s ...

For Daytona USA 2 Battle on the Edge:

Code: Select all
-balance=15 -sound-volume=130 -music-volume=170


For Daytona USA 2 Power Edition:

Code: Select all
balance=-40 -sound-volume=130 -music-volume=160



Also, this is my adjustment for Scud Race Export:

Code: Select all
-balance=40 -sound-volume=130 -music-volume=160


Try and see, or rather, listen, and tell me if it feels better.


cheers , just re-tried them with your settings and i noticed a big improvement in Daytona USA 2 Power Edition, i can hear the "Time Extension" now and a radio chatter.....



Noice!!

Good to hear!

If you feel comfortable, you can adjust the parameters to your liking.

The ones I gave you, I spent some time experimenting with various combinations until it was as pleasant as possible to my liking, but you can use them as a starting point, adjusting in increments to less or more, decrease or increase the Music Volume, or the Sound Volume, or even change the balance ratio between the front and back channel, make decimal changes, eg -sound-volume=130 ... try to change to -sound-volume=140... try until you find the right one for you.

cheers
User avatar
LsrgcBath
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Brazil - Sao Paulo

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Spindizzi » Tue Nov 29, 2016 3:10 am

Hi,
I'm really glad someone is working on the audio code.

I don't really work on audio code, I do not have the capabilities with my modest knowledge to produce code. I only try to understand what's cooking, and make proposals on follow-up. Giving me access to the svn, would be a huge mistake, :lol:
It's quite likely there is a structure to these commands that we are unaware of

You're right, actually we do not know about commands/datas and how to process them. For my case, only tests/deductions and I even can't understand many things
++
Spindizzi
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 8:55 am
Location: France

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby dustyjo » Tue Nov 29, 2016 4:51 pm

terminator2k2 wrote:
cheers , just re-tried them with your settings and i noticed a big improvement in Daytona USA 2 Power Edition, i can hear the "Time Extension" now and a radio chatter.....


The reason why this is necessary is because these games have rear speakers that are right next to the player's ears, so the rear speakers had to be set quieter than the front ones. When we mix this down to 2 channels and don't account for this, we end up with some things sounding much quieter than they should.
dustyjo
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 2:04 am

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Shekel » Tue Dec 06, 2016 8:08 am

Is anyone adding the code the SVN? :)
User avatar
Shekel
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 12:45 pm

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Bart » Fri Dec 09, 2016 12:08 am

I unfortunately have been very busy and haven't had a chance to try these changes but intend to do so. If they work well enough, I would love to commit them to SVN and credit the author.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1905
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Fixing the mixing music in SR2

Postby Spindizzi » Thu Dec 15, 2016 6:47 am

Hi,
I think to myself and I'm surely totally wrong :roll: , since there is apparently no sync between music (dsb2 68000) and main cpu. We have just start, stop, what to play, and volume commands.
1)I can't understand why the dsb2 receives commands a bit too late compared to graphics. That produces de-sync. What could it come from ? Interruption ? Timer ?
2)Is there a way to accelerate the 68000 (factor of 60/57.5) ? I would like to see what happens if the dsb2 runs a same speed that the graphic engine because the 3d engine is set to 60fps instead of 57.5fps so it's faster and the music is given for 57.5. I Suppose it will speed up the music and sync it with pictures if the 68000 runs faster. Looking sources, but I can't find a sort of init to the 68000 at 11 or 12Mhz. I just saw cycles allocated to it at every frames.
Conversely, setting the 3d engine to 57.5 instead of 60 is not enough to soft sync but setting to 55 is almost that !

Other things,
I've updated sources with Musashi 68000 (Karl Stenerud) v3.3->v3.4. Easy to update. Must see If it's allowed to use his work. Apparently this doesn't break anything.
Trying also SDL v2 and glew v2.0, I've just noticed shadows glitch on sr2 (the only game I test on for now). Apparently no changes in the timings/timer
++
Spindizzi
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 8:55 am
Location: France

PreviousNext

Return to The Dark Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests