Major code change pushed

Technical discussion for those interested in Supermodel development and Model 3 reverse engineering. Prospective contributors welcome.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby CiroConsentino » Sun Jul 30, 2017 6:52 pm

hi,
I just realized something. The ROM "size" tags are gone in the new "Games.xml" file.
There is no way to know the size of the game set now. Can the ROM size tag be added back ? It's not vital for my frontend but it's nice to know the size in bytes of each ROM.
The old list from the source code (in "Games.cpp"), the file sizes are all there.


... there's nothing to see here.
Last edited by CiroConsentino on Mon Jul 31, 2017 5:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
CiroConsentino
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 4:50 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby Bart » Sun Jul 30, 2017 9:37 pm

Why is the size necessary? It seems redundant. The CRC can verify whether the ROM is correct, so no one needs to know the size for that. Also, the objectives of Supermodel's ROM loading system are slightly different than MAME's. I wanted to make it easy for me to load up home brew ROMs, so I wanted to put as little information in Games.xml as possible (that way, I wouldn't have to change Games.xml each time I build a new ROM set).
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2058
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby CiroConsentino » Mon Jul 31, 2017 5:42 am

It's just for game size info in the frontend, not necessary at all.

>> I wanted to make it easy for me to load up home brew ROMs, so I wanted to put as little information in Games.xml as possible (that way, I wouldn't have to change Games.xml each time I build a new ROM set).
Noted. I understand your point of view and agree. ROM size is not important. No worries, I can deal with it. Don't think of this for another second...
CiroConsentino
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 4:50 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby Bart » Mon Jul 31, 2017 1:14 pm

What if we reintroduced them in an unused tag? For example, original_size="0x200000" or something like that?
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2058
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby CiroConsentino » Mon Jul 31, 2017 5:33 pm

No need. This is your project, your rules.
Like I replied earlier, don't worry about it Bart.

>> What if we reintroduced them in an unused tag?

If you do that, then wouldn't be the same as adding the size tag ? Plus, if the set changes, you'll have to update this "original_size" tag as well.

A tag that it's there and won't be used at all by the emulator ? That works, but it's unnecessary. Supermodel3 users will not notice the lack or ROM sizes info...
Please don't go around changing Games.xml because of me. I just thought that due to recent emulator changes, the size tag was left out by mistake. If it was intentional, then I'm fine with it... seriously! :D
CiroConsentino
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 4:50 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby Bart » Wed Aug 02, 2017 11:10 am

CiroConsentino wrote:No need. This is your project, your rules.
Like I replied earlier, don't worry about it Bart.

>> What if we reintroduced them in an unused tag?

If you do that, then wouldn't be the same as adding the size tag ? Plus, if the set changes, you'll have to update this "original_size" tag as well.

A tag that it's there and won't be used at all by the emulator ? That works, but it's unnecessary. Supermodel3 users will not notice the lack or ROM sizes info...
Please don't go around changing Games.xml because of me. I just thought that due to recent emulator changes, the size tag was left out by mistake. If it was intentional, then I'm fine with it... seriously! :D


It's really not a problem to add. If you want to add these tags, go ahead. Just maybe make sure the code can gracefully handle missing tags. Think of it as extra metadata.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2058
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby CiroConsentino » Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:16 pm

No worries. I just finished coding a function in my frontend to parse the games and their ROMs from "Games.xml" file, and replace the ROMs from child sets into the list of ROMs from parent set (using file "region" and file "offset" tags). File name and CRC32 are left out. It takes around 1.7 seconds to read the list and create a games list database compatible with my frontend. I can't just mount a games list and ROMs list directly from Games.xml though.

My frontend uses CRC32 checksum to validate ROMs of sets. The ROM size and ROM name are of no importance.
CiroConsentino
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 4:50 am
Location: Brazil

Previous

Return to The Dark Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: YoYo09 and 3 guests