Major code change pushed

Technical discussion for those interested in Supermodel development and Model 3 reverse engineering. Prospective contributors welcome.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby Ian » Tue Mar 28, 2017 2:02 pm

added it :)
Ian
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:23 am

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby HarryTuttle » Tue Mar 28, 2017 2:38 pm

Ian, just pulled last commit, however the error is still there... :(

The change must be on <BlockFile.h> 'cause is included in many other files, this is an extract from the console output:
Code: Select all
Compiling Src/Debugger/Debugger.cpp...
In file included from Src/Debugger/Debugger.h:47:0,
                 from Src/Debugger/Debugger.cpp:28:
Src/BlockFile.h:74:29: error: 'string' in namespace 'std' does not name a type
   bool FindBlock(const std::string &name);
                             ^~~~~~

[...]

make: *** [Makefiles/Makefile.SDL.Win32.GCC:288: _obj/Debugger.o] Error 1
Compiling Src/Debugger/ConsoleDebugger.cpp...
Compiling Src/Debugger/SupermodelDebugger.cpp...
In file included from Src/Debugger/Debugger.h:47:0,
                 from Src/Debugger/ConsoleDebugger.h:30,
                 from Src/Debugger/ConsoleDebugger.cpp:28:
Src/BlockFile.h:74:29: error: 'string' in namespace 'std' does not name a type
   bool FindBlock(const std::string &name);
                             ^~~~~~
[...]
User avatar
HarryTuttle
 
Posts: 646
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 8:57 am

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby Ian » Tue Mar 28, 2017 2:57 pm

Okay :)
Ian
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:23 am

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby Bart » Wed Mar 29, 2017 8:35 am

Are there any remaining issues preventing you from building, Harry?
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2219
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby HarryTuttle » Thu Mar 30, 2017 5:51 pm

Sorry Bart to respond so late, very busy weeks are coming at work and time dedicated to code and post here is mostly confined in the weekends or at late night...

Bart wrote:Are there any remaining issues preventing you from building, Harry?

It's all ok now :) All I had to do was to change <BlockFile.h> and now compiles flawlessly. I'm just testing it a little bit before submitting spotlight & fog changes. I'm planning to do it by this weekend.

In fact I was planning to do that a week ago, but since the last major changes in repository I had to re-sync all my changed files to the new tree. However now it's done.
User avatar
HarryTuttle
 
Posts: 646
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2017 8:57 am

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby CiroConsentino » Thu Mar 30, 2017 6:59 pm

Bart wrote:I've added the remaining games to Games.xml but have not added all the various alternate ROM sets. Next, I'd like to get parent/child sets working. I need to take a peek at how the official MAME ROMs are structured these days.

hi,
please make sure to add a cloneof="parent_set_name" in clone games so we, humble frontend developers, can set the proper parent/clone relationship, but also to make it easier to audit clone sets that need ROMs from the parent set.
MAME does it like this:
<game name="scud">
..
..
..
<game name="scuda" cloneof="scud">

This is also useful if you want to have ROMs in the parent set and only the required ROMs in the clone sets. This way you don't need to duplicate ROMs from the parent .zip set into the clone .zip set.
CiroConsentino
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 4:50 am
Location: Brazil

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby Bart » Thu Mar 30, 2017 10:35 pm

HarryTuttle wrote:Sorry Bart to respond so late, very busy weeks are coming at work and time dedicated to code and post here is mostly confined in the weekends or at late night...


Believe me, I know how that is :) Take your time! Supermodel has been around since 2003. It's not going anywhere ;)

It's all ok now :) All I had to do was to change <BlockFile.h> and now compiles flawlessly. I'm just testing it a little bit before submitting spotlight & fog changes. I'm planning to do it by this weekend.

In fact I was planning to do that a week ago, but since the last major changes in repository I had to re-sync all my changed files to the new tree. However now it's done.


Great! I'm excited to see what you've discovered :)

By the way, my new config system makes one of the things you had added work automatically: InputSystem can be specified in the config file. Inputs themselves are still global (in fact, I enforce this explicitly for a number of reasons), but the input system can now be specified in the config file as either global or per-game.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2219
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby Bart » Thu Mar 30, 2017 10:36 pm

CiroConsentino wrote:
Bart wrote:I've added the remaining games to Games.xml but have not added all the various alternate ROM sets. Next, I'd like to get parent/child sets working. I need to take a peek at how the official MAME ROMs are structured these days.

hi,
please make sure to add a cloneof="parent_set_name" in clone games so we, humble frontend developers, can set the proper parent/clone relationship, but also to make it easier to audit clone sets that need ROMs from the parent set.
MAME does it like this:
<game name="scud">
..
..
..
<game name="scuda" cloneof="scud">

This is also useful if you want to have ROMs in the parent set and only the required ROMs in the clone sets. This way you don't need to duplicate ROMs from the parent .zip set into the clone .zip set.


I already have this functionality. Check out the latest Games.xml and look at the entries for "scudp" and "scuda":

Code: Select all
<game name="scuda" parent="scud">
  ...


I prefer the term "parent" since "clone" makes absolutely no sense to me in this context :)

If a zip file with a child set is detected, Supermodel will now attempt to:

1) Load the parent from the same zip file, if it is present there.
2) Load the parent from the same directory as the zip file specified on the command line, using the game's short "name" as specified in Games.xml. Example: \supermodel\roms\scudp.zip will cause it to look for \supermodel\roms\scud.zip
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2219
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby Ian » Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:47 am

What's the point of parent/child roms?
Surely each should just stand on their own?

And the current build crashes when loading harley on this line
[](File::ptr_t a, File::ptr_t b) { return a->filename < b->filename; });

I think the error is saying you need to sort the files
Ian
 
Posts: 1547
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:23 am

Re: Major code change pushed

Postby CiroConsentino » Fri Mar 31, 2017 4:45 am

Ok, no worries.
Will you be able to put all parent ROMs into the child set ? This way you can have only scuda.zip and not have scud.zip

One more question: can a ROM from the child set (scuda) be present in the parent set (scud) or they must be only in the child set? ... MAME calls it merged set.
CiroConsentino
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 4:50 am
Location: Brazil

PreviousNext

Return to The Dark Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests