Network code

Technical discussion for those interested in Supermodel development and Model 3 reverse engineering. Prospective contributors welcome.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Re: Network code

Postby Spindizzi » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:47 am

Thks Model123 for the incredible bunch of screenshots
dirt 4players
Image
harley 4players
Image

for daytona2 (bote), I saw the consequence but not the cause (at the start of the data exchange - machine count)
M: A4 00 00 68 00 00 00
S: A4 00 00 68 01 00 01 00 00 00 00
M: A4 00 09 68 00 00 00
S: A4 00 00 68 01 00 01 00 00 00 00
instead of:
S: A4 00 09 68 01 00 01 00 00 00 00
Spindizzi
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 8:55 am
Location: France

Re: Network code

Postby Kacperas » Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:28 am

I've performed some tests with provided builds. Below I've listed my observations, maybe you'll find something useful:
- Without enabling network emulation, two Supermodel instances with scud were able to run at full speed with -no-threads flag.
- After enabling network emulation, number of FPS dropped significantly.
- After connecting two devices with similar specs using 1Gbps connection (direct connection between devices), number of FPS dropped even more in comparison to localhost. FPS number on Fast Ethernet connection (using a router) seems to be even worse.
- Connection between two devices utilized about 3Mbps bandwidth.
- Scud seems to be synced frame-by-frame. Similar scene was visible on both Supermodel instances.
- Dayto2pe was a bit desynced. One instance was a bit ahead than second one. At the moment of choosing car, everything seems to be synced again.
Kacperas
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 9:35 am

Re: Network code

Postby stranno » Tue Feb 27, 2018 7:27 am

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Y-qpxNprCw

A little test with two instances, same gamepad, one nub for each player.

I like how the rival cars in Scud are facing the sky :lol:
stranno
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 11:09 am

Re: Network code

Postby Spindizzi » Tue Feb 27, 2018 10:26 am

Thanks Kacperas, I mostly know about that
dayto2pe and scud are slower than other games, for sure. Even if I cut sound/dsb and re-activated threads on a test version :? .

Erf, Stranno, have you accelerated the video ? :o
I know I have a (very?) old computer (first i7) , but I never got 50fps or more with the network, just about 7-10fps specially with dayto2pe
If it's the real speed, I need a new computer, :mrgreen:

I notice the medium circuit on scud doesn't have any graphical glitches (except orientation of the car). I only tested the first one...
Spindizzi
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 8:55 am
Location: France

Re: Network code

Postby Boomslangnz » Tue Feb 27, 2018 12:23 pm

Lol I was getting around 25 fps when it was across 2 x pcs

But he's close to getting full speed at 52 etc
Boomslangnz
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:35 pm

Re: Network code

Postby stranno » Tue Feb 27, 2018 2:32 pm

I'm using a 7700K 5GHz :)
stranno
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 11:09 am

Re: Network code

Postby ConversusVans » Tue Feb 27, 2018 4:27 pm

Keep up the good work, Spindizzi!
I managed to test the network emulation out with Harley and it works fairly well but very slow on my laptop with i5 and Geforce 940m after putting the -no-threads option in cmd.
I recommend putting both games in test mode before setting them up. Hopefully the -no-threads issue can be resolved.

Racing my dad with an extra USB handlebar would be pretty funny, hehe. But as it is emulation I don't expect a "miracle" right now. : - )
- Conversus W. Vans (Paul)
User avatar
ConversusVans
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 3:27 pm
Location: South Carolina

Re: Network code

Postby Boomslangnz » Wed Feb 28, 2018 1:32 am

Do you have any ideas on the scud race crazy graphics plus car orientation etc?

If I recall correctly, nik's network emulation had the same issues with car orientation so is it something un-related to the network emulation? If that makes sense
Boomslangnz
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:35 pm

Re: Network code

Postby Ian » Wed Feb 28, 2018 1:57 am

I'm pretty sure the crazy gfx are timing related. We are probably drawing at the wrong time. I'm guessing scud is somehow delaying the frame to sync for network.

The crazy car orientation I'm guessing is some network related error . Maybe some endian swapping is required or the data is being written to the wrong offset, since the position is correct it's just the orientation. Interestingly Nik's network build had this identical error with scud.
Ian
 
Posts: 1468
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:23 am

Re: Network code

Postby Boomslangnz » Thu Mar 01, 2018 9:28 pm

why does it run worse when across seperate pcs then running 2 x instances or more on 1 pc?


One thing ive noticed mostly cos its running like 10fps or something lol when doing Daytona 2 is the network seems to be out of sync a bit with each other, what I mean by that is the car positioning on PC1 looks different on PC2. Ill try take a screenshot to show

*EDIT*
took this screenshot at exact same time on each pc, notice how the positioning is a bit different. Ive had times when car is getting rammed on one pc, but on other pc you arent even touching them etc

Image
Boomslangnz
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:35 pm

PreviousNext

Return to The Dark Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests