Building Supermodel on Windows with Visual Studio 2008

Technical discussion for those interested in Supermodel development and Model 3 reverse engineering. Prospective contributors welcome.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Re: Building Supermodel on Windows with Visual Studio 2008

Postby nikdd » Thu Feb 02, 2012 5:43 am

Daytona wrote:Just to confirm this is working for me.

Windows Vista and Visual Studio 2010 enterprise edition.

Thank you for the detailed instructions and thankyou Bart and other contributors for a fantastic emulator.


Hi Daytona,

Thanks for the feedback - good to know it works on Vista and Visual Studio 2010! When I have a moment I'll update the notes in the instructions to reflect the fact it's been successfully tested with this configuration.

Cheers, Nik.
nikdd
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:39 am
Location: London

Re: Building Supermodel on Windows with Visual Studio 2008

Postby RaydenX » Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:57 am

I suggest that you should specify that Visual C++ 2008/2010 needs to be installed in order to compile the source code.
I happened to have installed only Visual Basic 2010 from Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate and thus I wasted quite some time figuring out that I had to install Visual C++ 2010 too ;)
To buy Daytona USA 1 on PSN or not to buy Daytona USA 1 on PSN? That is the question.
RaydenX
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2011 3:35 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Building Supermodel on Windows with Visual Studio 2008

Postby xemumanic » Mon Feb 06, 2012 9:38 am

Any word if this will compile using Visual Studio 2008 Express on Windows 7?
xemumanic
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 5:46 pm

Re: Building Supermodel on Windows with Visual Studio 2008

Postby Bart » Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:22 pm

xemumanic wrote:Any word if this will compile using Visual Studio 2008 Express on Windows 7?


I would think it should... Give it a try and let us know.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2058
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Building Supermodel on Windows with Visual Studio 2008

Postby xemumanic » Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:51 pm

Does only Visual C++ need to be installed, or the whole kit and caboodle?
xemumanic
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 5:46 pm

Re: Building Supermodel on Windows with Visual Studio 2008

Postby Bart » Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:42 am

xemumanic wrote:Does only Visual C++ need to be installed, or the whole kit and caboodle?


The compiler and the Windows platform SDK must be installed. I'm not aware of any distributions of Visual C++ that do not include an IDE capable of opening project/solution files, so a bare bones installation is probably sufficient.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2058
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Building Supermodel on Windows with Visual Studio 2008

Postby xemumanic » Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:14 am

So I downloaded the entire VS 2008 Express ISO, not knowing which part to install, but I ended up only installing Visual C++ 2008.

In any case, I followed the instructions, and all went as planned.

It compiled, and runs fine.

So yeah, you can check off Visual Studio 2008 Express & Windows 7 as "working".

I tried Daytona 2 and Power Edition. The AI cars however, didn't have the fixed textures from your YouTube videos. Maybe you didn't add those to SVN yet?
xemumanic
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 5:46 pm

Re: Building Supermodel on Windows with Visual Studio 2008

Postby Bart » Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:30 am

xemumanic wrote:It compiled, and runs fine.


Excellent!

I tried Daytona 2 and Power Edition. The AI cars however, didn't have the fixed textures from your YouTube videos. Maybe you didn't add those to SVN yet?


Read the video description carefully. That was just research and a big hack. I haven't had time to examine it in any more detail (and it'll be a while before I do). It was never committed to SVN because it broke non-textured polygons.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2058
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Building Supermodel on Windows with Visual Studio 2008

Postby xemumanic » Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:32 am

Alright, hope to see it implemented soon.
One last question:

Is the multi-threading code implemented? Is there a command line switch?
xemumanic
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2011 5:46 pm

Re: Building Supermodel on Windows with Visual Studio 2008

Postby Bart » Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:15 am

xemumanic wrote:Alright, hope to see it implemented soon.
One last question:

Is the multi-threading code implemented? Is there a command line switch?


The multi-threaded GPU code is enabled by default. The only way to disable it for now is to set GPUMultiThreaded=0 in the config file.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2058
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: New York City

PreviousNext

Return to The Dark Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests