[WORKAROUND] srally2, NVRAM and corrupted graphic

Having technical difficulties with Supermodel? Last-minute wardrobe malfunction? Get help here.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

[WORKAROUND] srally2, NVRAM and corrupted graphic

Postby addamm » Mon Dec 24, 2018 4:53 am

Playing srally2 after it creates its NVRAM file, always leads to corrupted graphics.
See screenshot:
Image


Steps to reproduce:
    1_ open srally2.zip with non-existent srally2.nv
    2_ emulation begins
    3_ wait until cars appear in the intro video
    4_ insert coins
    5_ play
    6_ close emulator's window with "X" or by pressing ESC on the keyboard
    7_ open srally2.zip (this time srally.nv has been just created)
    8_ emulation start directly to gametype selection (intro video is skipped)
    9_ corrupted graphics

Emulation works good only if started without its srally2.nv
Last edited by addamm on Mon Dec 24, 2018 11:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
archlinux@ryzen1700+rx550
User avatar
addamm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 4:19 am
Location: over here!

Re: srally2, NVRAM and corrupted graphic

Postby Bart » Mon Dec 24, 2018 10:01 am

The underlying cause of this has never been investigated. Clearly, the game is skipping some initialization step when it detects unused coins. One of many things I would love to investigate given unlimited time but probably never will. Anyone willing to slog through PowerPC assembly language and familiar with C++ is welcome to ping me for suggestions of how to proceed investigating this issue ;)

The game will boot with an NVRAM file, I think. Just make sure there are no unused credits. Try inserting only one coin, playing a game, then exiting.
User avatar
Bart
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2347
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:13 pm
Location: Santa Clara, California

Re: [WORKAROUND] srally2, NVRAM and corrupted graphic

Postby addamm » Mon Dec 24, 2018 11:36 am

inserting only one coin, playing a game, then exiting.


It works, thanks Bart! 8-)
archlinux@ryzen1700+rx550
User avatar
addamm
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2018 4:19 am
Location: over here!

Re: [WORKAROUND] srally2, NVRAM and corrupted graphic

Postby Ian » Tue Dec 25, 2018 7:45 am

I had a quick look at this
the data is filled with zeros for the viewport, ie no data
Could be an actual game bug, as apposed to an emulation bug.
Ian
 
Posts: 1647
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 9:23 am


Return to The Fitting Room

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests