Model 2 emulator on Win10?

Discuss Supermodel and your favorite Model 3 games. Show off your latest threads, this is the place to see and be seen.
Forum rules
Keep it classy!

  • No ROM requests or links.
  • Do not ask to be a play tester.
  • Do not ask about release dates.
  • No drama!

Re: Model 2 emulator on Win10?

Postby ferrarifan » Thu Sep 27, 2018 2:20 pm

Bart wrote:I figured if anyone knows the answer to this, it's folks here :) I wanted to run ElSemi's Model 2 emulator but it simply crashes upon trying to load a game. I've tried 1.1a, 1.0, and 0.9. I recall having some issues with this in the distance past but I can't remember how I fixed it. Any ideas?
You still couldn't get the emulator fired up? I just got the Win 10 update about two months ago and it still works. I have a similar problem with Demul(With the exception of 0.7A)when i'm trying to play Naomi/Atomiswave ROMs. What are your system specs? Are your GPU drivers are up to date?
User avatar
ferrarifan
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 7:38 pm

Re: Model 2 emulator on Win10?

Postby ferrarifan » Sun Oct 07, 2018 4:39 pm

Bart wrote:I figured if anyone knows the answer to this, it's folks here :) I wanted to run ElSemi's Model 2 emulator but it simply crashes upon trying to load a game. I've tried 1.1a, 1.0, and 0.9. I recall having some issues with this in the distance past but I can't remember how I fixed it. Any ideas?
Somehow i did have the same problem on my Old 2008 PC. But, The DirectX installer did the trick.
User avatar
ferrarifan
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 7:38 pm

Re: Model 2 emulator on Win10?

Postby ferrarifan » Tue Apr 16, 2019 8:04 pm

Bart wrote:I figured if anyone knows the answer to this, it's folks here :) I wanted to run ElSemi's Model 2 emulator but it simply crashes upon trying to load a game. I've tried 1.1a, 1.0, and 0.9. I recall having some issues with this in the distance past but I can't remember how I fixed it. Any ideas?
Hey bart i found the older versions of the model 2 emulator. I went to SEGA Retro and i found this link from the site. https://retrocdn.net/images/b/b9/Model2 ... ersions.7z Hopefully it works for you. It's really a big dissapointment with Win10 users couldn't use the emu. I'm actually the only person that never have this kind of problem so far and Jon Hooper AKA UK Arcades also updated Win10 and uploaded Model 2 games on the emu. What are your System Specs? How old is your GPU? Maybe try to update drivers.
Last edited by ferrarifan on Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ferrarifan
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 7:38 pm

Re: Model 2 emulator on Win10?

Postby SuYuzuki » Wed Apr 17, 2019 8:40 am

Osiris wrote:Model2 or Model3 run perfectly for me on Windows10 in my Desktop computer or Surface Pro tablet.
Make sure that you PC run with all the last drivers : run time , dirext X , frameworks etc ....

I never ever had a crash using Windows10.

I wish you will fix that soon , is not normal.



Same here I havent had any issue on win 7 but regarding my thrustmaster T 300 Alcantara I have to switch to won 10 cause under win 7 the driver ain't instalable. Next step I will try under win 8 64 but cause under win 10 lots of cave shooters will stutter.....
SuYuzuki
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 12:00 am

Re: Model 2 emulator on Win10?

Postby doteater » Tue Apr 23, 2019 1:40 am

i know this was already mentioned several times in the thread but adding my personal experience here :
on both xp and 7,i had to download and install older directx files / dlls for this emulator to run
without those,it would simply immediately crash the moment you run the exe(s)
kind of annoying that you get no error message of any kind so you're left with no clues etc

windows 10..well,maybe in 2042

in the perfect world,we should have proper model 2 emulation in mame by now so we could kiss this..not so accurate emulator goodbye
but with kale pretty much on permanent hiatus and the rest of the mame guys focusing on calculators,popcorn machines,etc instead of arcade stuff..yea,not looking good

one question : are save states broken or simply not present in the latest / last release ?
there is nothing in the readme files about them so i don't even know which are the assigned keys for those if they are indeed available
what's the last release when they were "officially" supported ?

edit : f11 to save and f10 to load and,yes,they don't work in the latest version :roll:
User avatar
doteater
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:24 am

Re: Model 2 emulator on Win10?

Postby ferrarifan » Fri May 03, 2019 8:30 am

Joaquim Gonçalves wrote:Where's ElSemi? :(
ElSemi(AKA Miguel Ángel Horna) is actually working at a video game company called Blitworks which they known for porting games to different platforms. I followed his twitter account yesterday and he hasn't been active in the emulation scene much since he started working for SEGA of Europe. I doubted if he ever decided to continue working on emulation again.
User avatar
ferrarifan
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2015 7:38 pm

Re: Model 2 emulator on Win10?

Postby nuexzz.. » Fri May 03, 2019 9:09 am

maybe it can be useful to someone, m2emulator is blocked if you have installed the virtual ports (com0com) of teknoparrot installed.
simply uninstall and m2emulator works again
User avatar
nuexzz..
 
Posts: 303
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 3:10 pm
Location: Argentina

Previous

Return to The Catwalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: LeSpank and 7 guests